Properties: websites
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (former Gold Book)
NIST Data Gateway: Property Search
Environmental Data
EPA Data Finder
A single place to search for United States Environmental Protection Agency data sources on topics from air to pesicides to water.
World Bank Environment Data & Statistics
Search by topic, country or region/income. Data is subject to a 2-year delay.
GEO Data Portal
Search for data sets used by the United Nations Environment Programme. Filter by categories such as Water Consumption and Resources. Data is national, regional, subregional or geospatial.
Properties: subscription sources
-
Knovel Critical Tables
Contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data for over 15,000 compounds. Additionally, several tables make use of the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature.
Coverage Dates: - 2003 -
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
Coverage Dates: - 2003 -
Smithsonian Physical Tables
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
Coverage Dates: - 1954 -
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder Scholar CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences.
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedias
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Valley TP9 .K54 2004 (26 vol.)
Water Encyclopedia
Valley TD351 .V36 1990
Handbooks
Environmental Contaminant Reference Databook
Valley
TD196.C45 P73 1995
Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals
Valley
TD196.O73 V47 2001
Handbook of environmental engineering calculations
Valley
TD145 .H27 2000
Handbook of Environmental Fate and Exposure Data for Organic Chemicals
v. 1. Large production and priority pollutants. -- v. 2. Solvents. -- v. 3. Pesticides. -- v. 4. Solvents 2.
Valley
TD196.O73 M32 2006
Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering
Valley
TD145 .S72 1999

