Other Databases to Try
This glossary of entomological terms is based on Torre Bueno's Glossary, from which all terms relevant to ants, wasps, bees and termites where extracted.
Biological Control: A Guide to Natural Enemies in North America
This guide provides photographs and descriptions of biological control (or biocontrol) agents of insect, disease and weed pests in North America. It is also a tutorial on the concept and practice of biological control and integrated pest management (IPM).
Biosystematic database of world diptera
The BDWD is a set of tools to aid users in finding information about flies. The two main components of the BDWD are the Nomenclator and the Species database.
California Beetle Database --- Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History
This database contains over 50,000 records of beetle species in California, including collection and literature records. About one-third of the records are georeferenced and mappable.
California Moth Specimen Database
compiled by Kelly Richers since 1996 as a resource to better survey and understand California moths
Ecological Database of the World's Insect pathogens
Offers information on fungi, viruses, protozoa, molllicutes, nematodes, and bacteria that are infectious in insects, mites, and related arthropods.
MCZ Type Database@ Harvard Entomology
his online database contains records for primary types in the entomology collections of the Museum of Comparative Zoology (MCZ). The MCZ insect type collection, one of the largest in North America, currently preserves the primary types of more than 28,000 species, representing 29 orders, 565 families, and 7,578 genera.
National Agricultural Insect Collection
The National Agricultural Insect Collection is a reference insect collection of the National Agricultural Research Institute (NARI) of Papua New Guinea. The collection contains a large number of insect specimens (~200,000) collected from all over Papua New Guinea. The specimen records contain information on distribution, host ranges and pest statuses, which can be used as reference information for identification
Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
Nematodes as Biological Control Agents of Insects
rovide comprehensive information on the scale insects of the world, including queriable information on their classification, nomenclatural history, distribution, hosts, and literature. Currently information can be retrieved for 35 families, namely Aclerdidae (grass scales), Arnoldidae, Asterolecaniidae, Beesoniidae, Carayonemidae, Cerococcidae (ornate pit scales), Coccidae (soft scales), Conchaspididae (false armored scales), Dactylopiidae (cochineal scales), Diaspididae, Electrococcidae, Eriococcidae (felt scales), Grimaldiellidae, Grohnidae, Halimococcidae, Hammanococcidae, Inkaidae, Jersicoccidae, Kermesidae (gall-like scales), Kerriidae (lac scales), Kukaspididae, Labiococcidae, Lebanococcidae, Lecanodiaspididae (false pit scales), Lithuanicoccidae, Margarodidae, Micrococcidae, Ortheziidae (ensign scales), Pennygullaniidae, Phenacoleachiidae, Phoenicococcidae (date scales), Pseudococcidae (mealybugs), Serafinidae, Stictococcidae and Weitschatidae.
Recommended Databases
-
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Links to over 300 journals in Academic Search Premier.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
AgEcon Search
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
Coverage Dates: 1932 - present -
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
BioOne
BioOne is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by Journal -
Abstracts in Anthropology
The only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field, Abstracts in Anthropology has established itself as an indispensable reference and research tool for the international community of anthropologists. Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals.
Coverage Dates: 2002 - present
Electronic Journals
You can access electronic journals subscribed by OSU Libraries at http://mw8xt6bj7r.search.serialssolutions.com/
These journals are arranged in alphabetical order. You can also browse by subject

