Subject Research Databases
-
AgEcon Search
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
Coverage Dates: 1932 -
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Links to over 300 journals in Academic Search Premier.
Coverage Dates: 1970 -
Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts (part of ESPM)
Subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management. Covers agricultural products involving both plants and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments. Plant genome studies, now the focus of major research initiatives around the world, are examined in detail. Food, chemical, pharmaceutical, and biotechnology companies as well as scientists and other professionals working in agricultural and environmental fields will find information essential to their work in this journal.
Coverage Dates: 1993 - present -
BioOne
BioOne is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: Varies by Journal -
CAB Abstracts
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, forestry, nutrition and veterinary medicine. International scope.
Abstracts and index:
1973-present
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present -
GrayLit Network
Developed by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), in collaboration with DOD/DTIC, NASA, and EPA, the GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical report information generated through federally funded research and development projects.
Coverage Dates: 1974 -
MEDLINE (PubMed)
Index to research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present -
Plant Management Network
The Plant Management Network database provides quick and easy access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources, and related information. The database indexes all articles published in Applied Turfgrass Science, Plant Health Progress, Crop Management, and Forage and Grazinglands, and thousands of web-based resources hosted at PMN's partner university, company, and association websites.
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1984 -
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world\'s largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information, with more than 20 million abstracts of journal articles, patents, and more. CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences. The Registry is the world\'s largest collection of organic substance records.
1907-present
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present -
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Electronic Journals @ OSU
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is a service that helps us to borrow books and journal articles we do not currently have at the Valley Library, It is free to OSU student, staff and faculty. Journal articles can arrive from a few hours to a few days but books can take longer.
If you have never use Interlibrary Loan before, please read this page,https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/FirstTime.html
You can sign up with your Onid account
https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/logon2.html
Note: Textbooks are hard to get. Expect long delays or cancellations. Please don't depend on Interlibrary loan for requred texts for your courses.
Research
A blog initiated by Anne-Marrie Deitering, this blog talks about how to find specific journal articles inthe OSU collections, how to track down a scholarly /research source from a news artilce or how to get your book source etc.
Keep Current with your research
learn about social bookmarking, bibliographic management software, blogs, wikis, search alerts and feeds to help you keep up with and manage information for your research areas.
Can be used to organize and personalize citation/bibliography manaer software program
EndNote features include
- Organize references in a database.
- Format citations and create bibliographies automatically in word processing software.
- Create multiple databases with unlimited records per database.
- There are 47 customizable reference types with up to 52 fields for entering bibliographic data.
- EndNote has the capability to connect directly to information resources that support the Z39.50 standard. This greatly simplifies the process of importing search results into an EndNote database. (Note: Most commercial reference databases have restricted access, requiring a login/password.)
- For resources that do not support Z39.50, downloaded references can be imported without retyping into personal EndNote databases using EndNote's import filters
Here is the Tutorial you can use to learn how to use EndNote
Plagiarism Information
Please click on this link to see the definition of plagiarism at OSU
Last Update: 07 Oct 09:22
