Other databases to consider
These additional databases and e-resource collections below will be useful in locating scholarly/peer reviewed articles on agriculture and plant science topics.
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
Coverage Dates: 1932 - present
Full-text journal collection. Most BioOne's titles are published by professional societies and non-commercial publishers with an emphasis on the biosciences.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by Journal
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
JSTOR Plant Science
JSTOR specializes in giving you access to the older years of journals. For studying plants of economic importance, this can be a useful resource
Coverage Dates: 1816 -
Index to research articles covering all areas of medicine . Useful for toxicology, ethnobotany, health and safety information.
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
Developed by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), in collaboration with DOD/DTIC, NASA, and EPA, the GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical report information generated through federally funded research and development projects.
Coverage Dates: 1943 -
Plant Management Network
The Plant Management Network database provides quick and easy access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources, and related information. The database indexes all articles published in Applied Turfgrass Science, Plant Health Progress, Crop Management, and Forage and Grazinglands, and thousands of web-based resources hosted at PMN's partner university, company, and association websites.
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world\'s largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information. Useful for biological chemistry topics. Need to register to use this database.
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by topic keyword, author, journal, and/or author address. You can also search the database for articles that cite a known author or work.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Recommended Databases (for locating articles)
Begin with these databases to locate articles and research findings on specific agriculture topics. A complete list of Databases is linked from the "FIND IT" tab on the OSU Library homepage.
Academic Search Premier
Provides indexing and in many cases full-text coverage to nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, forestry, nutrition and veterinary medicine. International scope.
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present
Produced by the National Agriculture this database is excellent for US focused topics of interest to researchers in the USDA. International in scope but since the mid-1980s, emphasis is on covering those materials which may not be indexed by other resources such as CAB Abstracts.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
You can now search across our e-journal collection with "1Search" located in the upper right corner of the library's webpage.
- Remember to use the more specialized databases mentioned on this page when 1Search is not enough.
- 1Search may not be the tool of choice when looking for a specific reference.
Scan & Deliver - Interlibrary Loan
When you see an article of interest in a database, follow the "360 link to full-text" -- This will bring you back to our library. If the article is not available electronically from our subscriptions, then you can use the request feature (Scan & Deliver) and it will be sent to you (that will take 48 hours if it is in the library collection and longer if it is not).
The same system is used for requesting any article which is unavailable from the library's collection. That service is called "interlibrary loan" or "ILL" for short.
Before you use Scan & Deliver OR ILL for the first time, you need to register. You can get this done ahead of time by going to: https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/FirstTime.html
- Read over the registration information and then follow the "first time users click here" button
- From then on, you will either go directly to the login page at https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/ when you have an article you can't find OR
- be sent there directly when you are using the 360-link to fulltext in a database
If you use GoogleScholar remember that you can set your "Scholar Preferences" so that it knows you are part of OSU by noting your "Library Links" as:
- Oregon State University Libraries -- find it at OSU (essential for journal articles)
- Open WorldCat - Library Search (good for books)
If you have not started in a database or the catalog, you will find the link to Scan & Deliver (and Interlibrary Loan) is located under the "FIND IT" tab on the library home page.