Searching for Books
OSU Libraries Online Catalog is the primary tool for finding books and periodicals owned by the library, as well as for locating and requesting materials from nearby libraries through its link to the Summit catalog. There are many ways you may search the catalog (Keyword, Author, Title, etc.). Often a more effective searching method than keyword is the Library of Congress subject headings search. When necessary, you must consult the subject heading books (at the Reference Desk) to determine which headings match your subject. Speak to a reference librarian when you need help subject-searching.
Some examples of subject headings in Military Science are:
|
Air Warfare |
Nuclear Ships |
|
Ordnance Naval |
Patton, George, 1885-1945 |
|
United States--air forces |
United States Marine Corps |
|
United States--history--civil war, 1861-1865 |
United States--history, military--20th century |
|
War--economic aspects--Soviet Union |
War of 1812--United States--history--causes |
|
Warships |
Weapons--dictionaries |
|
World War, 1939-1945 |
|
Journal Articles
Professional journals are an important component of the literature of military science and history. Usually, these periodicals contain articles that present detailed accounts of original research, supported with logical analysis and thorough documentation (charts, graphs, footnotes, bibliographies, etc.). They are essential secondary sources for in-depth research on a particular topic.
-
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
-
America: History and Life
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Coverage Dates: 1964 -
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Coverage Dates: 1955 -
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Government sponsored research reports and technical papers from all areas of physical, life and applied science.
Abstracts and index: 1964-present
Coverage Dates: 1964 - present
Internet Resources
Following is a very brief example of some of the online resources available:
- Air & Space Power Journal: http://www.airpower.maxwell.af.mil/airchronicles/apje.html
- Military History links at Index of Resources for Historians: http://www.gzg-fn.de/faecher/links/ressourc.htm
- US Army War College at Carlisle Barracks: http://carlisle-www.army.mil/usamhi/
Last Update: 24 Dec 13:39 | Tagged with: military military science ROTC History war

