Locating Primary Sources
Here are some resources for finding primary source material
- Early American Imprints (Index) REF Z1215 .E93 [Thousands of documents on fiche]
- Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States DOCS AE 1.108:G94/V
- American Memory
- Documenting the American South: The Southern Experience in 19th Century America
- Historical Text Archive: War
- Making of America
- National Archives and Record Administration NARA
- The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
- Western Historical Manuscript Collection
Read more
Research Guides
In the Valley Library collection:
- American Civil War: A Handbook of Literature and Research E456 .A41 1996
- Guide to the Sources of British Military History DA50 .G81 1971
- Guide to the Sources of United States Military History E181 .G8 1975
- Handbook of American Military History: From the Revolutionary War to the Present E181 .G8 1996
- Peace and War: A Guide to Bibliographies JX1952 .C381 1983
In the Valley Reference section:
- Reference Guide to United States Military History REF E181 .R34 1991
Government Information
Link to The Valley Library's Government Information page for access to a wide range of resources pertaining to government information.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available (full text available) NEW!
Offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress. Index of congressional publications: 1789-present
GPO Access
Official information disseminated by the U.S. Government Printing Office, from all three branches of the Federal Government.
GPO Monthly Catalog (online) 1976-present
Comprehensive source for locating U.S. government documents published by the Government Printing Office. Citations to agency reports, congressional hearings, special commissions, statistical reports, et. al.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications:
DOCS REF Z1223 .A14 no. (historic)
Precursor to GPO Monthly Catalog (above). Monthly account of government reports and studies from all branches of government.
U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index: DOCS REF KF40 .C56 1981
Indexes more recent House and Senate documents.
CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, 1789-1969: REF KF49 .C61 1975
Indexes House and Senate reports by name, subject, number, etc. (also included in LexisNexis Congressional)
Browse Topics: Defense & Military
Includes all branches of the U.S. Armed Forces and anti-terrorism agencies, such as Homeland Security and Military Intelligence. Military topics, such as colonialism, defense spending, military history, and military espionage are also covered.
Last Update: 24 Dec 13:39 | Tagged with: military military science ROTC History war

