Background Information
Encyclopedias:
Online:
In the Valley Library collection:
- Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies E45 .E53 1993
- United States in World War I: an Encyclopedia D510 .U65 199
- Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America E188 .E63 1990
- Encyclopedia of World History: Ancient, Medieval, and Modern D21 .L3 1972
- Encyclopedia of the American Military UA 23 .E56 1994
- Harper Encyclopedia of Military History from 3500 B.C. to the Present UA23 .E56 1994
- US War Machine: An Encyclopedia of Military Equipment and Strategy UA23 .U79 1983
Dictionaries:
Online:
- Dictionary of American History 3rd ed.
In the Valley Library collection:
- Dictionary of Concepts in History D13 .R49 1986
- Dictionary of Military Terms: A Guide to the Language of Warfare and Military Institutions U24 .D87 1986
- Historical Times Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Civil War E468 .H57 1986
- Naval Terms Dictionary V23 .N6 1988
- Dictionary of Battles D25 .A2 H2 1971
- Dictionary of Wars D25 .A2 K63 1986
- Handbook of American Military History E181 .H23 1996
Dates & Events
- American Military History E181 .M18 1973
- Civil War Almanac E468.3 .B68 1983
- Civil War Day by Day Almanac, 1861-1865 E468.3 .L6
- Chronicle of the First World War D523 .G634 1990
- Chronology of the Modern World D209 .W59 1994b
- Chronology of the United States E174.5 .C63
Biographies
- Dictionary of American Military Biography U52 .D53 1984 (3 vol.)
- Webster's American Military Biographies U52 .W4 1984
- The Congressional Medal of Honor: the names, the deeds UB433 .C65 1984
- Forever a Soldier: unforgettable stories of wartime service U52 .F66 2005


