Finding Books Using Subject Headings
Topics in peace studies appear throughout the collection, from political science to religion to nuclear physics. An often more effective method than keyword to search for books in the catalog is by using the Library of Congress subject headings assigned to them.
Listed below are some Library of Congress subject headings associated with peace studies to get you started:
- Arbitration, International
- Arms control
- Conflict management
- Disarmament
- Human Rights
- International Relations
- Mediation
- Mediation—International
- Nuclear Arms Control
- Pacifism
- Peace
- Peace Movements
- Peace Treaties
- Social Conflicts
- United States--Foreign Relations
- United States--Foreign Relations—Treaties
- Women and Peace
Finding Articles
-
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
LexisNexis Academic
Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
-
America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Coverage Dates: 1964 -
Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 290 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences, and includes selected abstracts from scholarly publications. Updated quarterly by the Alternative Press Center.
Index only: 1991-present
Coverage Dates: 1991 - present -
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Coverage Dates: 1955 -
Homeland Security Digital Library
The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets.
-
GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch)
Comprehensive sources for locating U.S. government documents published by the Government Printing Office. Citations to agency reports, congressional hearings, special commissions, statistical reports, et. al.
Index only:
1976-present
Coverage Dates: 1976 - present -
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Last Update: 23 Dec 15:07 | Tagged with: peace war History political science human rights

