Statistics Resources
ChildTrends DataBank - the latest national trends and research on over 80 key indicators of child and youth well-being, with new indicators added each month. Provided by Child Trends, a national leader in the field for over 20 years. http://childtrendsdatabank.org
County and City Databook - Contains statistical information from the U.S. Census Bureau on the following subjects: agriculture, civilian labor force and employment, construction, crime, education, health, housing, land area and population, manufactures, money income and poverty status, social welfare programs and other vital statistics. Data can be scanned on a national, regional, state, county or city basis. All U.S. cities with populations of greater than 25,000 are included.1967, 1972, 1977, 1983, 1988, 1994 in paper: HA203 .A12
The National Center for Education Statistics has released Youth Indicators, 2005: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth . This report contains statistics that address important aspects of the lives of youth, including family, schooling, work, community, and health. The report focuses on American youth and young adults 14 to 24 years old, and presents trends in various social contexts that may relate to youth education and learning.
Data on the Net Website where you can search or browse a listing of 363 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
AgeSource/AgeStats Worldwide From AARP, designed to complement the Ageline database. Statistical information on the aging population of 25 countries worldwide.
AgingStats.gov Federal interagency forum on aging-related statistics.
-
Statistical Abstract
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Full-text and data: 2006
Coverage Dates: 2006 -
Social Trends and Indicators USA
This 4-volume set extends the successful "USA" statistical series by providing in-depth statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses. Statistical data is gathered from respected sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and the Social Security Administration; data is also gathered from The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and the stock exchanges.
Coverage Dates: 2003 -
LexisNexis Statistical
Contains more than 30,000 tables from statistical compendia and compilations issued by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The tables are linked to abstracts, which in turn link to the full-text source document. Full text of Statistical Abstract tables as well as an index to a large number of federal and state statistical resources through American Statistical Index (ASI) and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).
Abstracts and full-text: updated annually
Coverage Dates: 1970's - present
ICPSR
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations. ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences, and hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
As a member of ICPSR, OSU students, faculty, and staff have access to the ICPSR data archive, and to educational activities (including the Summer Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research, classroom-ready data, web based instruction, and the Undergraduate Research Paper Competition). OSU researchers also have the opportunity of depositing their own data to take advantage of long-term preservation and worldwide dissemination.
ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan and maintains its office in Ann Arbor.
For questions regarding ICPSR, please contact Valery King at the Valley Library, phone 737-7318.
-
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
Government Publications
A great deal of research and publication in HDFS fields is done by state and federal government organizations. Much of this is online and cataloged, so also check the OSU Online Catalog.
Selected US Government Agency websites
Bureau of the Census http://www.census.gov/
Dept. of Education http://www.ed.gov/
National Institute on Early Childhood Development and Education - http://www.ed.gov/offices/OERI/ECI/
Dept. of Health & Human Services http://www.os.dhhs.gov/
Administration on Aging http://www.aoa.dhhs.gov/
Administration for Children and Families http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/
Dept. of Justice
Office on Violence Against Women http://www.usdoj.gov/ovw/
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention http://ojjdp.ncjrs.org/
Dept. of Labor
Women's Bureau http://www.dol.gov/wb/welcome.html
State and Local Government sites
Oregon Online http://www.oregon.gov/
Oregon Progress Board http://www.econ.state.or.us/opb/index.htm
Data for Local Communities http://libweb.uoregon.edu/dlc/
more links to a variety of government information can be found in the Government Information subject guide.
-
GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch)
Comprehensive sources for locating U.S. government documents published by the Government Printing Office. Citations to agency reports, congressional hearings, special commissions, statistical reports, et. al.
Index only:
1976-present
Coverage Dates: 1976 - present -
LexisNexis Congressional
Current and historic information concerning the U.S. Congress. Includes: House and Senate Documents and Reports; Congressional Committees; Hearings; Legislative Histories, Bills and Laws; Serial Set Index; U.S. Code and Federal Regulations.
Index of congressional publications: 1789-present
Coverage Dates: 1789 - present -
GPO Access
A free service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. A free service.
Selected Internet Resources
Oregon State University's HDFS Department Home Page http://www.hhs.oregonstate.edu/hdfs/
Children, Youth and Family Consortium Electronic Clearinghouse http://www.cyfc.umn.edu/
GeriatricWeb http://geriatricweb.sc.edu/
Gerontological Society of America http://www.geron.org/
Human Development and Family Science Extension (Ohio State) http://www.hec.ohio-state.edu/famlife/index.htm
National Child Care Information Center http://nccic.org/
National Council on Family Relations http://www.ncfr.com/
Films in the Classroom
Under current laws, is it permitted to show films in your classroom? The American Library Association and the Association of Research Libraries have released a document to give you some guidance. See: "Performance of or Showing Films in the Classroom"
Last Update: 28 Sep 13:47

