HDFS databases
- Journal articles can be located using library databases. The following are suggested for finding literature pertaining to HDFS topics.
-
Academic Search Premier
General database with full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
LexisNexis Academic
Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Includes full-text.
-
Ageline (AARP)
Abstracts of the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. Includes both professional literature citations and selected consumer content. 1978-present.
Coverage Dates: 1978 -
Contemporary Women\'s Issues
Index to articles from 600 journals covering global information on women. Journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, along with fact sheets. Information on women in over 150 countries is covers such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights.
Index and Full-text: 1992-present
Coverage Dates: 1992 - present -
Education Research Complete
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Coverage Dates: Varies by title -
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels.
1966-present. Includes thesaurus searching, links to the OSU Libraries Online Catalog and full text document service (EDRS), where applicable.
1966-present. Links are provided for full text articles and documents.
1966-present.
Coverage Dates: 1966 - present -
Health Source
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, more than 500 peer-reviewed. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Updated daily.
Coverage Dates: 1965 -
PsycInfo (via PsycNET)
Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.
Abstracts and index: 1887-present
Coverage Dates: 1887 -
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Abstracts and index: 1980-present
Coverage Dates: 1980 - present -
Sociological Abstracts
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Abstracts and index: 1963-present
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
Finding Books
OSU Libraries Online Catalog - Materials owned by OSU libraries are cataloged in this database, including books, government documents, information about journals the library subscribes to, etc. You can search the database from any computer with Internet access at: http://oasis.oregonstate.edu/
Summit (Orbis Cascades) - Combines many academic library catalogs in Oregon and Washington. Materials in Summit are available to OSU students, faculty & staff within 3 working days if they aren't checked out. You can extend your search from OSU Libraries Online Catalog to Summit with the click of a button, or connect directly at: http://summit.orbiscascade.org
Searching - Online catalogs can be searched by author, title, subject, etc. The most effective subject searching utilizes the Library of Congress Subject Headings. The complete list of subject headings is located in the library's reference area; ask if you need help. Notice that each record in the online catalog will indicate the subject headings assigned to that item, and these are usually hot links to other materials on similar topics.
Locating by call number - OSU Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system to organize and arrange materials.
WorldCat - If OSU and Summit libraries don’t have what you are looking for, you can search for books in WorldCat, a collective catalog from hundreds of libraries, containing over 60 million records. You can submit interlibrary loan requests directly from this database by clicking on the InterLibrary Loan (ILL) link in the record.
Subject Searching
The most effective subject searching in library catalogs utilizes the Library of Congress Subject Headings. The complete list of subject headings is located in the library's reference area; ask if you need help. Notice that each record in the online catalog will indicate the subject headings assigned to that item, and these are usually hot links to other materials on similar topics. Here is a list of some examples of subject headings for HDFS:
| Sex | Sex role |
| Gender identity | Homosexuality |
| Lesbianism | Marriage |
| Divorce | Family |
| Children | Early childhood education |
| Adolescence | Parenthood |
| Grandparenting | Single parent family |
| Home economics | Consumer education |
| Gerontology | Aged |
| Aging | Death |
|
|
|
Call Number Searching
Many HDFS materials fall into the "HQ" call number range and are located on the 5th floor of the Valley Library. More specific groupings of materials include:
| BF 1-940 | Psychology |
| HM 1-291 | Sociology |
| HN 1-981 | Social History |
| HQ 9-471 | Sexual Life |
| HQ 503-1064 | The Family. Marriage. Home |
| HQ 1060-1064 | Gerontology (Social Aspects) |
| HQ 1101-2030.7 | Women. Feminism |
| HQ 2035-2039 | Life skills. Everyday living skills |
| LB 1101-1140.5 | Child Studies. Preschool Education |
| RA 421-790.85 | Public Health |
| RC 321-571 | Neurology & Psychiatry |
| RC 952-952.6 | Gerontology (Medical Aspects) |
Last Update: 28 Sep 13:47

