Online Encyclopedias and Reference
-
Family in Society: Social Issues Primary Sources Collection
Provides readings into two centuries of changes in concepts, representations, and roles of the family in society.
Coverage Dates: - 2007 -
Gender Issues and Sexuality: Social Issues Primary Sources Collection
Provides insight into the personal, social, and political issues of gender and sexuality--issues that range from intimate matters of personal belief to matters that profoundly shape modern society.
Coverage Dates: - 2006 -
Social Trends and Indicators USA
This 4-volume set extends the successful "USA" statistical series by providing in-depth statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses. Statistical data is gathered from respected sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and the Social Security Administration; data is also gathered from The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and the stock exchanges.
Coverage Dates: 2003 - present -
Statistical Abstract
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Full-text and data: 2006
Coverage Dates: - 2006 -
Encyclopedia of Aging
Covering a variety of disciplines -- biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history -- the Encyclopedia of Aging also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics. Also includes a topical outline, primary source documents, addresses, Web sites and an index.
Coverage Dates: - 2002 -
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development
The Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development breaks new ground as a continuously updated and timely reference work for students, educators, researchers and professionals. This three volume work is divided into major conceptual areas of child development: Learning, Behavior, and Emotions; offers extensive internal cross referencing and includes references and suggested works in most entries.
Coverage Dates: - present -
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Includes articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same sex institutions, and AIDS.
Coverage Dates: - 2004 -
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Comprehensive guide to the field of school psychology featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Entries on psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Coverage Dates: - 2005 -
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
The Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life
Coverage Dates: -
Reference Overview
Reference works are generally referred to for particular pieces of information, rather than read cover to cover. The style used is informative and emphasize facts.They are useful for quick lookups, general overview, and may lead you to authors, concepts, and materials useful in your research.
Reference works are found in the general book stacks, and more and more frequently you can find them online as well. Online references listed here include a link to the item.
Reference Works
Dictionaries & thesauri
The Dictionary of family psychology and family therapy / S. Richard Sauber ... [et al.] RC488.5 .D525 1993
Key words in ethics, law, and aging : a guide to contemporary usage / Marshall B. Kapp HQ1061 .K3525 1995
Dictionary of gerontology / Diana K. Harris HQ1061 .H338 1988
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of early childhood education LB1139.25 .E53 1992
Encyclopedia of marriage and the family / David Levinson, editor in chief HQ9 .E52 1995, 2 v.
Encyclopedia of family life / editor, Carl L. Bankston III ; project editor, R. Kent Rasmussen HQ534 .E53 1999, 5 v.
The encyclopedia of aging : a comprehensive resource in gerontology and geriatrics / George L. Maddox, editor-in-chief HQ1061 .E53 1995
Handbooks & directories
Handbook of Marriage and the Family HQ518 .H154 1999
Statistical handbook on the American family / edited by Bruce A. Chadwick and Tim B. Heaton HQ536 .S727 1999
Early childhood curriculum resource handbook: a practical guide for teaching early childhood (pre-K-3) LB1139.4 .E175 1993
Geriatric programs and departments around the world / editors J.-P Michel, ... [et al.] RC952 .G421 1998
Researching the family : a guide to survey and statistical data on U.S. families / edited by Nicholas Zill and Margaret Daly HQ503 .R55 1993
A guide to research in gerontology : strategies and resources / Dorothea R. Zito and George V. Zito HQ1061 .Z51 1988
Bibliographies
Families and aging : a selected, annotated bibliography / compiled by Jean M. Coyle HQ1061 .C61 1991
Inventory of marriage and family literature Z7164.M2 I5


