Issues and Debates
Presidential Debates
American Presidency Project (UCSB)
Transcripts of primary debates beginning 2007; will include general election debates after they happen.
Linked through CNN ElectionCenter2008
Commission on Presidential Debates
Text of the 2008 debates when they occur; text of debates for 1858, 1948, 1956, 1960, and every four years since 1976
Candidates On the Issues
Congress.org - Lists major Presidential candidates with candidate contact information, biographies, and voting information. Some biographies include the candidates’ positions on a variety of issues (economy, education, environment, job creation, health care, national security, tax policy, etc.).
New York Times Election Guide - Biographies and blogs of Presidential candidates as well as their stands on the issues (abortion, climate change, health care, immigration, Iran and Iraq)
On the Issues - Extensive web site analyzing positions of all Presidential candidates as well as incumbent governors, senators and House members on a variety of campaign issues. Relies on their voting records but also includes position statements.
Election Coverage
Newspaper Coverage (Web)
LexisNexis Academic (Subscription)
Full text of newspapers for the United States and its major cities
Links to commentaries from 325 political columnists and political cartoons
Links to current articles of political columnists
Full text of today's New York Times and a searchable archive. LexisNexis Academic (subscription) indexes the Times, 1969-79; full text begins in 1980
USA Today section on 2008 elections
News Media Websites on Politics '08
major US news organizations, all include video from their television networks
National Candidates
Democratic candidates
BARACK OBAMA - PRESIDENT
Official Web Site
Acceptance Speech (August 28, 2008)
JOE BIDEN - VICE PRESIDENT
Republican candidates
JOHN MCCAIN - PRESIDENT
Official Web Site
Acceptance Speech (September 5, 2008)
SARAH PALIN - VICE PRESIDENT
Congressional Candidates
Candidate Profiles (OpenSecrets.org, from the Center for Responsive Politics) - Politicians & elections, Influence & Lobbying, News & Analysis sections for Congressional and presidential elections
Congress.org - Includes links to 2008 Congressional and state legislative races by state
Congresspedia - Wiki on Congressional elections by state for 2008
CQ Politics - Section on House, Senate and Gubernatorial races to watch in 2008.
Political Parties
National Party Websites
Party Platforms
Historic Party Platforms (American Presidency Project) 1840-2004
Third Parties Websites
Last Update: 13 Oct 10:07 | Tagged with: political parties elections vote

