Oregon Map Collection
Celebrating the 150th anniversary of statehood, the Oregon State University Libraries and the University of Oregon Libraries collaborated to develop a free, online collection of maps featuring Oregon's history.
Maps online - quicklinks
Maps
- Oregon Explorer: mapping tools, premade maps.
- The Imagery Explorer includes 2005 .5m orthoimagery for the state.
- Digital maps from the OSU Libraries map collection (primarily historical maps)
- Oregon Maps (Sesquicentennial Celebration collection)
- The National Map (USGS)
- Libre Map Project, includes 24k scale USGS DRGs
- National Park Service: digital maps (JPG and PDF)
Nautical Charts
- Office of Coast Survey: raster navigational and electronic navigational charts (USA only)
- National Geospatial Intelligence Agency: digital Nautical Charts (USA only) with index to foreign charts
Electronic Atlases on the Web
- Oregon Coastal Atlas
- National Atlas (from the USGS)
- Census Bureau Map Browser (TIGER files)
- Atlas of Oregon Forests
- Oregon Vascular Plant Atlas
Aerial Imagery
- Oregon Explorer Imagery Portal. The Oregon Imagery Explorer serves Oregon's 2005 half-meter orthoimagery reconstructed from aerial photographs acquired in the summer of 2005. Other imagery including satellite data is also served. The original Oregon 2005 half-meter orthoimagery is in Digital Orthophoto Quadrangle (DOQ) format and has a spatial resolution of a half-meter.
Weather
- Oregon Climate Service
- look under Links & Data for Weather Maps
- U.S. National Weather Service
- The Weather Channel
Geographic Names
- Geographic Names Information Systems (GNIS): for the USA
- GEOnet Names Server: for foreign countries (from NIMA)
Federal Map Resources
- Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
- Central Intelligence Agency: index of CIA map publications
- CIA World Factbook (including country maps)
- FEMA Map Services Center
- Library of Congress, American Memory Project: map collections
- National Park Service
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
- National Wetlands Inventory - Wetlands Mapper
- U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
- US Topo: 7.5-minute quadrangle topographic maps free online at the USGS Store
Demographic Map Data
- American FactFinder (AFF) is a powerful and free online tool to compile custom tables and maps from Census data
- 2010 Census Interactive Population Map
International maps and data sources
- Agro-MAPS: Global Spatial Database of Agricultural Land-use Statistics
- Global Administrative Areas (.shp, .dra, .mif formats)
Map Libraries on the Web
- Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress
- University of Oregon MAP Library
- University of Washington, Map Collection & Cartographic Information Services
Map Publishers and Distributors
- List of map publishers and distributors, maintained by the University of Oregon MAP Library
Mapping
-
SimplyMap
Create your own maps with SimplyMap. (OSU users only; free registration required) SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications take over 20 hours of training to use, SimplyMap has been designed to be incredibly user friendly - most users are up and running with less than 10 minutes of training.
Coverage Dates: 2000 - present


