Online imagery
Oregon Imagery Explorer
The Oregon Imagery Explorer serves Oregon's 2005 half-meter orthoimagery reconstructed from aerial photographs acquired in the summer of 2005. Other imagery including satellite data is also served. The original Oregon 2005 half-meter orthoimagery is in Digital Orthophoto Quadrangle (DOQ) format and has a spatial resolution of a half-meter.
National Map Viewer (USGS)
Includes aerial imagery
http://nmviewogc.cr.usgs.gov/viewer.htm
Aerial images from OSU Archives
Rising Flood Waters
http://digitalcollections.library.oregonstate.edu/cdm4/client/corflood64/index.html
From the John H. Gallagher Photography Collection, Rising Flood Waters documents Willamette River flooding in Corvallis on December 23, 1964.
Best of the Archives
A sample of images from the aerial photo print collection.
Aerial Photos- historical
Aerial Photo Collections
Due to space limitations, the Valley Library only has air photos for the Willamette Valley to the coast, and because they are from gift collections, holdings are outdated and incomplete, and best used for historical research.
The University of Oregon Map Library collects for the entire state, but you must go to Eugene; they are not lent out.
Historical Collections
- Willamette Valley to the Coast (list of holdings)
- Historical Collection (finding aid .pdf): United States Department of Agriculture aerial photographs of Linn, Benton, and Lincoln Counties, Oregon, 1972-1994 (bulk 1994)
Aerial Photo Indexes
Mosaic or "index" books are kept in cases near the photo drawers on the west wall.
The counties are identified by a three-letter code; the codes for each county, along with number of photos and years of our holdings, are posted on this case. Only photos underlined in red (or highlighted in yellow) in the mosaic books are in the collection.
Accessing Aerial Photos
Actual photos are kept in locked gray map file drawers along the west wall in the department. You will need the name of the county, the year, and the photo id number from the index book to find them. They do not circulate, but you may make photocopies if you wish.
Please ask at the Archives and Maps reference desk (hours) for help accessing aerial photos.
Last Update: 29 Sep 13:14 | Tagged with: maps atlases data GIS aerial photos
