Historical map collections from OSU Archives
Gerald W. Williams collection, 1855-2007 (includes some maps)
Donald B. Zobel collection of historic forestry and vegetation maps, 1914-1989
OSU's Map Collections
Oregon Digital Orthophoto Quadrangles
- Digital orthophoto quads (DOQs) are available for all of Oregon. The CD-ROMs in this 526 CD set are available at the Circulation Desk. To determine which CD(s) to check out for a particular area, use the online index. The index is searchable by place name or longitude/latitude coordinates.
USGS National Elevation Dataset (NED)
- The USGS Digital Elevation Model (DEM) data files that make up the National Elevation dataset are available for all of the conterminous United States, Alaska and Hawaii. The CD-ROMs in this 73 CD set are available at the Circulation Desk. To determine which CD(s) to check out for a particular area, use the online index map. Click on the area needed to get the call number for the CD containing the data.
Topographic Maps
- U.S. Geological Survey 7.5' topographic maps ('topos') are arranged alphabetically by the name of the sheet within the appropriate state. To find the name of the sheet, you must use the topo map indexes for the state (on Reference shelves). Folders are indexed on the cards inside the lid of each case.
- Special editions of national park topos are arranged by catalog numbers. To find the call numbers, look up the park by name in online catalog.
Metsker County Atlases
- The Metsker county atlases (at least one for each Oregon county, in shelving units on the west wall) give individual property owner names, but are not current (suggested for historical purposes only).
- See list of Metsker atlases held by OSU Libraries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
- The Valley Library has the most complete collection of Sanborn maps for Oregon outside the Library of Congress. These are historical (1880s-1920s) detailed maps of downtown business areas of many cities in Oregon, even very small ones, showing locations of buildings and what type of business they were, materials they were built of, type of heating, etc: information insurance underwriters needed to make out fire insurance policies.
- The collection is kept in locked map cases. A booklet explaining the colors and symbols used is in the collection (Description and utilization of the Sanborn map, 16 p., Ref Map Room GA325 S3).
Last Update: 29 Sep 13:14 | Tagged with: maps atlases data GIS aerial photos
