Legislation and Statutory Law
The U.S. Code, Bills and Public Laws on GPO-Access The Government Printing Office's Wais databases provide access to the full text of Congressional Bills from the 103rd Congress forward, Public Laws of the 104th forward, the U.S Code since 1994, as well as several other databases. Also available from several Federal Depository Library Gateways.
THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet Includes full text of legislation from the 101st Congress onward, lists of "hot" bills by topic, number and short or popular title, the Congressional Record, Committee information, and more.
The U.S. Code (From the Office of the Law Revision Counsel, U.S. House of Representatives) This server provides full text searching of the Code.
The U.S. Code Hypertext version of the Code from the Legal Information Institute.
The House of Representatives - Internet Law Library Includes selected historical and current laws by source and title.
State Legislatures, State Laws and State Regulations Links to legislative resources on the Internet for all 50 states. From the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC.
Law Directories
Federal Web Locator
from the Center for Information Law and Policy
Europa
European Union Homepage - includes the Parliament, the Council, the Commission, the Court of Justice, the Court of Auditors and other bodies of the European Union (EU).
Legal Information Institute
from Cornell Law School
FindLaw
Directory of legal information on the Internet, including cases, law schools, firms, association, information by subject, and much more.
Directory of Legal Academia
A directory of law professors and law librarians in American law schools. From the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University.
Law by Subject
Environmental Law
Environmental Protection Agency
The European Environmental Law Homepage
Morgan, Lewis, and Bockius Environmental Deskbook
National Resource Defense Council Homepage
Copyright Law
The Copyright and Fair Use site at Stanford University provides links to copyright law sources.
Case Law
The Supreme Court
- Supreme Court decisions from 1893 - present are available on FindLaw.
- Supreme Court decisions from May 1990 - present are available at Cornell University's Legal Information Institute. This site also provides information on the current Justices, and links to legal information by subject.
- Supreme Court Decisions from 1937-1975 (U.S. Reports volumes 300-422) are available on the FedWorld web site and on GPO-Access.
- More information about the Supreme Court, including current court calendar, can be found on their website at http://www.supremecourtus.gov/index.html
Circuit Courts (U.S. Courts of Appeals)
- Federal Circuit Court opinions are available from Findlaw.
State Courts
- State courts can be located by going to the Resources by Jurisdiction page on FindLaw, clicking on the state and finding the link for Courts.
Oregon Law
Regulations
The Federal Register on GPO-Access
The Government Printing Office's database provides access to the full text of the Federal Register from 1994 to the present.
The Code of Federal Regulations
OMB Circulars from the White House website
Environmental Regulations
From the EPA Web server, a searchable index of environment-related information from the Federal Register.
Federal Acquisitions Regulations (FAR)
Browsable by part number. Files available in html or pdf format.
OSHA regulations
Regulations, laws and standards from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
Google and Law
As of 11/17/2009, according to the Official Google Blog, people will be able "to find and read full text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts using Google Scholar. You can find these opinions by searching for cases (like Planned Parenthood v. Casey), or by topics (like desegregation) or other queries that you are interested in."
Read more about this new Google service on the Google Blog, http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2009/11/finding-laws-that-govern-us.html.
Last Update: 05 Sep 15:05 | Tagged with: law government environmental law

