Find Articles: General Databases
- Multidisciplinary databases.
-
Academic Search Premier
Articles in magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
Fuente Academica
Scholarly journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including
Coverage Dates: 1992 - present -
LexisNexis Academic
Articles in English and Spanish newspapers.
-
NewspaperDirect PressDisplay
Current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.
Coverage Dates: Most recent 60 days -
Clase y Periodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
Coverage Dates: 1975
Call Numbers
Call Numbers and locations in Valley Library:
- PC 2001-4977 Spanish language (4th floor)
- PQ 6001-8929 Spanish literature (4th floor)
- PQ 7081-9829 Spanish literature in Latin America (4th floor)
See the LC Classificaton Outline for more specific call numbers in Spanish language and literature
- DP 1-402 History--Spain
- F 1201-3799 Latin America / Spanish America
See the LC Classification Outline for more call numbers in Spanish and Latin American history
Borrowing from other libraries
Books:
First see if a book is available through Summit. If it's not, request it through WorldCat.
Articles in journals:
Request through InterLibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically, so the turnaround time is often 24 hours or less but may take up to 5 working days.
About This Guide
This page includes general sources for researching topics in Spanish language and culture. See other pages in the guide identify sources for researching topics in:
- Humanities: language, liteature, film, and the arts
- Social Sciences: history, society and culture
Find Books: Catalogs
Summit (Orbis Cascades) Catalog
Academic libraries in Oregon and Washington. Request books not at OSU (or checked out) and have them sent here in 3-4 working days
Suggest books you'd like the library to purchase.
Latin America

NASA, 2005. Wikimedia Commons
Reference Sources
Encyclopedias & Biographies
Biografias y vidas Thousands of short biographies of writers, historical figures, particularly from Spain and Portugal.
Dictionaries & Grammars
The Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish)
The Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English)
Diccionario de la lengua espanola / Real Academia Espanola Valley Reference (Main floor) PC4625.A3 2001
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary Valley Reference (Main floor) PC4640.O94 2003
Other
LAPTOC: Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents. Searchable tables of contents of 950+ journals published in Latin America. Use OSU's Interlibrary Loan service to request articles not available here.
Indiana Unversity's Internet Resources in Latin American, Iberian & Latino Studies includes links to a wide range of websites.
Iberian Peninsula
Last Update: 29 Aug 12:49 | Tagged with: language Spanish Latin America Hispanic Central America culture art film literature
