Statistics Sources
Statistical Yearbook (UNESCO) - HA40.C8 U4
Statistical Abstract of the United States. (most recent issue at Reference Desk) - HA202
Earlier editions circulate for one day.
Available online at: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Major U.S. Statistical Series - HA37.U55 S77 1992
FedStats - links to over 100 federal agencies with statistics http://www.fedstats.gov/
BLS - Other Statistical Sites - gateway to links for international statistics http://www.bls.gov/bls/other.htm
Child Trends DataBank - Latest national trends and research on over 70 key indicators of child and youth well-being, with new indicators added each month. You can sign up for e-mail updates. http://www.childtrendsdatabank.org/
America's Children in Brief - issues and indicators include demographics; childcare; family, health, and educational experiences; children's behavior; and the child's social environment http://childstats.gov/americaschildren/
Reference Works in Psychology
PsychiatryOnline - Includes the DSM-IV, Journal of American Psychiatry, a selection of online books and journals.
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Subject-specialized dictionaries and thesauri are useful not just for finding definitions of terms and phrases used within the field, but can provide alternative, narrower and broader terms for creating a catalog or database search.
- A student's dictionary of psychology. 4th ed. BF31.S69 2003
- Dictionary of multicultural psychology GN502.H336 2005
- APA dictionary of psychology BF31 .A65 2007
- Thesaurus of psychological index terms (latest ed.) BF1 .P71
- Psychological Dictionary (from AllPsych Online)
- Oxford companion to the mind [electronic resource] BF31.O94 1987 (OSU/COCC students only)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of cognitive science (4 v.) BF311.E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of psychology (8 v.) BF31 .E52 2000
- Gale encyclopedia of childhood & adolescence HQ772.G27 1998
- Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology 2nded., 2001 [electronic resource]
- Psychology Basics [electronic resource] (OSU/COCC students only)
- Child Development (2002)
Handbooks & Directories
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. BF76.7 .P83 2010b
- Handbook of affective sciences BF511.H35 2003
- Handbook of child psychology. 4 v. BF721 .H242 1998
- Handbook of cognition BF201.H37 2005
- Handbook of research methods in developmental science BF713.5.H36 2005
- Handbook of research methods in clinical psychology RC467.8.H36 2003
- Sage handbook of methods in social psychology HM1019.S24 2004
Yearbooks and Literature Reviews
- Annual Review of Psychology BF1.A6
- Print 1950-2008
- Online full-text: 1950 - present through Annual Reviews

