Finding Articles
Journal indexes: To find individual articles in journals, you will typically use periodical indexes/databases which can either be in printed form or online (electronic) form. Most such indexes allow you to search by author or title of the article as well as subject or topic. Many online indexes also allow you to search the article citation and abstract with a keyword or free text search.
Locating journals: With the exception of some journals which are full-text online, you will need to locate the actual journal to read the article. You can search Oasis for the Journal Title (name of the journal) to determine if we own the journal.
If not, you can get copies of journal articles through our Interlibrary Loan service at: https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/
Off-campus access:
If you are searching from a computer on campus, you will automatically be recognized as an authorized user of OSU Libraries' resources. Off-campus access to online journals and databases is restricted to OSU faculty, staff, and enrolled students. To access these items from off-campus computers, use an OSU Libraries research tool.
More information about off-campus access.
Basic searching
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis. This is a good starting place to do a basic search on educational topics. Because of its multidisciplinary nature, it will pick up items about education topics covered in other subject journals such as business, psychology or the popular press. Abstracts, index and selected full-text: 1975 - present - Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Abstracts, index and selected full text: 1965-present
Subject-specific searching (education)
- Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. - ERIC
This is the single most extensive education database, combining indexing for both education journals (approximately 1000) and ERIC documents (online and microfiche collection). It covers all areas and levels of education including adult, continuing and vocational, administrative, counseling, elementary/secondary, and teacher education. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. General coverage begins in 1966. Many recent items from the full-text ERIC documents are available online. Older ERIC documents are also available in our microfiche collection on the 3rd floor of the Valley Library. Be sure to note the ED # in the record since these microfiche are arranged numerically.
If you are unable to locate an ERIC document online or here at the library, look in the 'Availability' field of the record for a possible source agency, organization or publisher. If it's a lengthy document, try searching the title in WorldCat.
Journal article citations in ERIC need to be followed up by locating the journal title in OSU Libraries Catalog or by ordering the article via Interlibrary Loan.
The ERIC database is also available to anyone via the World Wide Web: http://www.eric.ed.gov/ - Education Index
In order to search older (pre-1966) education journals, you can use this print index which covers 550 English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more. The Education Index in print covers 1929-1991 and is available for recall from Storage. Call no. Z5813.E4
Other subject-specific searching
You may find, based on your topic, that you need to search the journal literature of other disciplines such as Psychology or Sociology. For a subject guide to the online journal databases use the subject menu on the OSU Libraries Research Databases page.
- Agricola
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this database indexes journals, government reports and conferences. May be useful when researching community education topics. Covers: 1970-present - PsycInfo
Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.
Abstracts and index: 1887-present - Sociological Abstracts
Index to articles from journals in sociology and related disciplines in the behavioral and social sciences. Index: 1952-present
Comprehensive searching
You may want to search these other databases if you need to do a thorough review of the literature on your topic.
- Dissertation Abstracts
This provides abstracts for to the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.
Indexing of dissertations: 1861-
Abstracting of dissertations: 1980-
Abstracting of theses: 1988- - Article First
Provides access to the Tables of Contents for over 16,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. There is only keyword searching of the article citation, no abstracts.
Covers: 1990-present
Electronic journals
This is a subject-based organization of journals available online.
These must be searched one journal title at a time, so this is not a very efficient way to search. Unless you are interested in searching one specific electronic journal, it is recommended that you use a periodical index/database to do your searching. This list is subject to change.
- Open Access Journals in the Field of Education
An alphabetical list of scholarly, peer-reviewed electronic journals: http://aera-cr.asu.edu/ejournals/
Last Update: 02 Sep 17:36 | Tagged with: Education Learning Teaching Teacher Pedagogy

