Education

Ebooks in Education

Encyclopedia of Education This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 121 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text primary source documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education This handbook is sensitive to the competing demands of teaching, research and scholarship and academic management. Dealing with the rapid expansion of the use of technology in higher education and widening student diversity, this updated and expanded edition includes new material on for example, e-learning.
Routledge International Handbook of Critical Education The Routledge International Handbook of Critical Education is the first authoritative reference work to provide an international analysis of the relationship between power, knowledge, education, and schooling.
On Education / Bertrand Russell Russell outlines the transformative power of a progressive and thoughtful education - which for Russell takes the form of education in knowledge - with characteristic clarity and humour.

Subject Headings in Education

Online catalogs can be searched by author, title, subject, etc. The most effective subject searching utilizes the Library of Congress Subject Headings. The complete list of subject headings is located in the library's reference area; ask if you need help. Notice that each record in the online catalog will indicate the subject headings assigned to that item, and these are usually hot links to other materials on similar topics. Some examples of subject headings for education are:

Call Numbers

Many education materials fall into the "L" call number range and are located on the 5th floor of The Valley Library. More specific groupings of materials include:

  • L - Education(General)
  • LD - U.S. Educational Institutions
  • LA - History of Education
  • LH - College and School Publications
  • LB - Educational Theory and Practice
  • LJ - Student Fraternities and Societies
  • LC - Special Aspects
  • LT - Textbooks (General)

Call Numbers

Many education materials fall into the "L" call number range and are located on the 5th floor of The Valley Library. More specific groupings of materials include:

  • L - Education(General)
  • LD - U.S. Educational Institutions
  • LA - History of Education
  • LH - College and School Publications
  • LB - Educational Theory and Practice
  • LJ - Student Fraternities and Societies
  • LC - Special Aspects
  • LT - Textbooks (General)

Government Publications

Education documents produced by the Dept. of Education and other government agencies may be shelved in Government Documents on the 3rd floor. The call number usually begins with an "ED" instead of "L" and the location note in the record will indicate "Valley docs". These records are searchable in the OSU Libraries Catalog just as books are.

Last Update: 21 Nov 09:31 | Tagged with: Education Learning Teaching Teacher Pedagogy