Sociology

Other Databases to Try

  • Academic Search Premier locked database
    Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
  • Academic OneFile locked database
    The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • InfoTrac OneFile locked database
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • SSRN eLibrary locked database
    Use the SSRN eLibrary to search abstracts of over 318,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 257,400 downloadable full text documents in pdf. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
    Coverage Dates: -
  • ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research locked database
    The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) located at the University of Michigan is the world's largest data archive. ICPSR acquires, processes and distributes social science data collected by government agencies and other researchers. The data holdings cover a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.
    Coverage Dates: - present

Recommended Databases

JOURNAL ARTICLES usually have the most up-to-date research in the field. Many are available online; others you need to get in print. 1Search finds articles, or you can go to a database (see below for suggestions) for more in-depth searching

SEARCH BY SUBJECT. Begin your search in 1Search, or use one of our databases. Either one allows you to search many journals at one time, both electronic and print journal contents. Links are provided to our online content.

WHEN THE ARTICLE IS NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE you can request it using Scan and Deliver or Interlibrary Loan. Look for these options on your results pages.

  • Sociological Abstracts locked database
    Primary index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
    Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
  • Social Services Abstracts locked database
    Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) locked database
    The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Coverage is from 1970-present.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Social Policy: Social Issues Primary Sources Collection locked database
    Explores how governments and groups have developed and implemented social policies that have shaped societies and influenced social justice and social change.
    Coverage Dates: - 2007
  • PsycInfo (via PsycNET) locked database
    Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.
    Abstracts and index: 1887-present
    Coverage Dates: 1887 - present
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection locked database
    This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

    Concurrent Users: unlimited
    Coverage Dates: 1965 - present
Last Update: 30 May 22:43 | Tagged with: Sociology Society Social Studies Science