Finding Articles and Book Reviews
Using Electronic Databases: The Oregon State University Libraries' electronic databases below may be searched for items relating to children's literature.
Basic Searching
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database: The CLCD provides reviews of more than 4,000 children's books annually. In addition, the database offers interviews with authors and illustrators, and theme-based review lists.
The EBSCOHost databases below can be searched by keyword, including author names and books titles. Another option is to use appropriate subject headings from the database's thesaurus or subject terms listings. Here are some suggested subject headings in these databases:
- Children's literature
- Children's literature, English
- Children's literature in series
- Children's plays
- Illustrated books, children's
- Young Adult literature
- Young Adult literature, American
- Young Adult fiction
- Young Adult drama
- Young Adult poetry
Academic Search Premier
Provides access to abstracts for over 4,500 publications, with full-text available for some titles. Some academic journals covering children's literature and related topics are covered by this database.
MAS Ultra
MAS Ultra is a periodical database designed for high school libraries, with full text access for nearly 500 popular high school magazines
MasterFILE Premier
A database of popular periodical titles intended for public libraries. Includes general reference and titles covering a broad range of interests.
Arts & Humanities Index
This index covers journals in the general humanities field with a U.S. focus, some of which include reviews and articles on children's literature. No full-text.
Subject-Specific Searching
ERIC
The largest database of education resources, covering journals and documents from 1966-present with some full-text available. When searching ERIC, it is necessary to use different subject headings than those available for the previously recommended databases. Some examples:
- Childrens Literature (subject heading 1980-present)
- Childrens Books (subject heading 1966-1980)
- Adolescent Literature (subject heading 1973-present)
- Childrens Libraries
- Fairy Tales
- Nursery Rhymes
- Picture Books
- High Interest Low Vocabulary Books
- Reading Material Selection
Individual Electronic Journal Titles
Children's Literature in Education
Accessible full-text online through Academic Search Premier, 3/2001-current. Latest 12 months not available.
Cricket
(Child Lib. AP201.C8) Sept. 1984-Aug.1999
Accessible as full-text online through MasterFile Premier, May 1990-present.
Ladybug
Accessible as full-text online through MasterFile Premier, Jan. 1994-present.
Journal Titles in Print
Horn Book Magazine. Z1037.A1 H6 1947-1997. Indexed in Cumulative Book Review Digest Ref. Z1219.B6.
Last Update: 29 Aug 16:01 | Tagged with: Children Kids Teens Tweens Elementary Books Reading Readers Literacy
