Use e-Journals
Use full-text e-journals in the physical sciences (including chemistry, in engineering (including chemical engineering) and in the biological sciences (including toxicology). Note the date range available for each journal.
Journals can also be searched by individual title.
Use Websites
ChemxSeer
Integrated digital library and database allowing for intelligent search of documents in the chemistry domain and data obtained from chemical kinetics.
Scirus (Advanced search option recommended)
Scirus searches over 415 million science-specific web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data. It covers the latest technical reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals. Links in the search results will often lead to OSU Libraries' subscriptions to full-text articles.
Use Databases
Databases are used to locate journal articles from hundreds or even thousands of journals. Some journals will be available online (e-journals), some in print only and some will be available both online and in print.
-
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
USE OF SCIFINDER IS LIMITED TO CURRENT OSU STUDENTS, FACULTY and STAFF, ONLY. SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world\'s largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information, with more than 20 million abstracts of journal articles, patents, and more. CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences. The Registry is the world\'s largest collection of organic substance records.
1907-present
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present -
Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Index of cited articles from over 5000 scientific journals in all areas of science. Search by cited author, original author, title keywords or journal name.
Index only: 1970-present Web of Science
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
Compendex (Engineering Index)
Engineering Index (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics.
Abstracts and index: 1970-present
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
Dissertation Abstracts
Index to doctoral dissertations and masters theses in all academic disciplines completed at U.S. institutions. Abstracts only since 1980.
Abstracts and index: 1861-present
Coverage Dates: 1861 - present -
Medline (EBSCOhost)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
