Recommended Websites for Public Health
Environmental Health
- Agency for Toxic Substance & Disease Register (ATSDR)
ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
- Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
A compilation of electronic reports on specific substances found in the environment and their potential to cause human health effects. The information in IRIS is intended for those without extensive training in toxicology, but with some knowledge of health sciences.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
- National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
The National Center for Environmental Health plans, directs, and coordinates a national program to maintain and improve the health of the American people by promoting a healthy environment and by preventing premature death and avoidable illness and disability caused by non-infectious, non-occupational environmental and related factors.
- Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration aims to ensure employee safety and health in the United States by working with employers and employees to create better working environments.
- Environmental Health and Toxicology Health Information Program (TEHIP)
TEHIP maintains a comprehensive toxicology and environmental health web site that includes access to resources produced by TEHIP and by other government agencies and organizations. This web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. TEHIP also is responsible for the Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®), an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases that are available free of charge on the web. - Environmental Health Sciences Center - Oregon State University
Recommended Databases for Public Health
-
Medline (EBSCOhost)
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is the largest biomedical literature database. Includes over 18 million citations to articles related to all aspects of health and medicine and is international in scope.
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present -
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
Health Source
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides article citations for nearly 850 journals and access to nearly 550 full text journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
Finding the full text of an article
Locating articles: Once you find your citation, you will need to locate the journal to read the article. For some citations, you will see pdf icons or html links that allow you to directly access the full-text articles online. For others, click on the
button to see if OSU subscribes to the electronic or the paper copy of the journal.
This will open a new window and will display a link to full-text when available. If full-text is not available, click the "Submit a request" link and OSU Libraries will get the articles for you as a pdf file.
You can also click the "check the library catalog" link to see if we have the paper version of the journal you need (NOTE: check to make sure we have the specific year/volume/issue you need ).


