Recordings
The Music Resource Center in Benton Hall contains 900+ music CDs that do not circulate (listen in the MRC). These are NOT in the OSU Libraries catalog.
The Valley Library has recently started to collect CD and DVD recordings of classical music and opera that can be checked out. It is still a small collection, but it is fully cataloged and included in the OSU Libraries catalog. Click on the "Audio & Video" button when you do your search there.
Another option for finding recordings in the library is to browse or search the collection on the web page under Find It -> Find Other Materials -> Audio & Video -> Multimedia Listing. (Here is a direct link) You cannot browse the physical collection; you must request the item using its call number from the Circulation Desk.
Another alternative is the Corvallis-Benton County Public Library. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in the Benton County Library District may get a free library card. Also available from CBCPL is the Classical Music Library database with recordings that include music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present. You can access this with your library card number and stream the recording to your computer.
Music at OSU
Library resources for music at OSU are in two locations on campus:
1. The Valley Library contains:
- collected works of selected composers
- "monuments" and other collections of music
- limited collection of full and miniature scores
- reference books in music, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies
- books about music and musicians
- music journals and indexes to aid in their use
- a NEW collection of classical music CDs and DVDs that circulate
2. The Music Resource Center in Benton Hall (part of the Music Department) contains:
- 900+ music CD's (primarily classical, choral, jazz) (do not circulate - listen in MRC)
- 4,800+ full and miniature scores (may check out for 3 weeks)
Phone number for the MRC is 737-3634; hours are 8 am - 6 pm during the term.
Writing Guides
- Writing About Music: A Style Book for Reports and Theses, by D. Irvine. ML3797 .I79 1968 Part 1, Style in the typescript, discusses specific details of typography and documentation, such as footnotes, bibliography, and illustrative material. Part 2 deals with writing skills and literary style in general and as they pertain to the discussion of musical topics.
- Writing About Music: An Introductory Guide, by R. Wingell. ML3797 .W54 1997. Designed as a guide for undergraduate music majors, this brief but helpful book covers the writing of research papers, program notes, concert reports, and other types of writing about music. It provides guidance in the research process and writing effective prose.
Last Update: 19 Aug 13:29 | Tagged with: music music education songs instruments

