Subject Directories
These websites, also known as "pathfinders," contain links to other internet sites. Unlike general interest search engines, the resources listed in subject directories have been organized and evaluated, simplifying a researcher's information search.
General Music
- Librarian's Index to the Internet: Music http://lii.org/pub/topic/music Arranged by topic, these sites are reviewed and indexed by librarians.
- Yahoo! Directory: Music http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Music
A well-organized hierarchical subject-oriented guide for the Web and Internet. - AMG All Music Guide http://www.allmusic.com/
Strongly recommended for its breadth of coverage and excellent cross-references by the review journal CHOICE, this site covers over 307,000 recordings, 1.5 million song titles, 45,000 biographies and 107,000 reviews of music from classical to rap. Artists, musical styles and genres, discographies and numerous links to every kind of music are included.
Classical Music Directories
- DW3 Classical Music Resources - Duke University http://www.lib.duke.edu/music/resources/classical_index.html
Bills itself as the "World's most comprehensive collection of classical music links." Contains accurate, scholarly biographical and historical data on all musicological periods, with a strong search engine. - Classical Music Navigator http://www.wku.edu/~smithch/music/index2.htm
Organized for the user to find familiar composers and classical types of music. There are five subjects to choose from: Composers, Basic Library of Notable Works, Geographical Roster, Index of Forms and Styles of Music, and Glossary. An excellent site for students. - Classical net http://www.classical.net
Covers all aspects of classical music through a network of commercial and noncommercial links. Included under general classical are genres and singers, composers, performers, period links, geographical guides to instrumental music, and FAQs. Navigation is easy and direct.
Show Music Directories
- Musicals.Net http://musicals.net
The idea behind this non-commercial website is "To provide the on-line community of musical theatre lovers a place to 'meet' other people, to share information about the shows that they love, and to learn about shows they may come to love!" Generally, the shows that are represented on Musicals.Net tend to be popular Broadway musicals. Links, lyrics, song lists, synopsis, and forums for discussion of particular shows are some of the elements that are available for each show. - Musical Heaven, celebrating the musicals of yesterday and today http://www.musicalheaven.com/
This site showcases various classes of musical shows including Opera, Movie Musicals, Broadway Musicals, Off-Broadway Musicals & London's West End. Musicals can be browsed by title or subject (General, Classic Musicals, Contemporary Musicals, Revivals), or there is a pretty good site search engine available. There are also links to reviews and fully licensed MIDI files, licensing agents for the shows in case your local theater company wishes to perform one, and a "Musical Mart" where you can find links to purchase recordings, music and other merchandise relating to the musical theater. - Internet Broadway database http://www.ibdb.com/default.asp
This site is useful for music researchers looking for lists of songs that were performed in the original runs of Broadway musicals. The IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre to the present. Created by the Research Department of League of American Theatres and Producers, the national trade association for Broadway, IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. Information is derived primarily from theatre programs (in most cases from a production's opening night). Supplemental information is taken from newspaper and magazine reports, theatrical text books, interviews with theatre professionals, and League archives. Easily searchable, the IBDB prides itself on its accuracy and comprehensiveness.
Research Directories
- Internet resources for music scholars - Edna Kuhn Loeb Music Library of the Harvard College Library http://hcl.harvard.edu/loebmusic/online-ir-intro.html
Links to more than 300 scholarly music resources on the Internet. The format is simple: an index page leads to eight other pages, each for a single topic, e.g., scholarly societies, journals, databases, publishers. - Worldwide Internet Music Resources - William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University School of Music http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/
Subject directory to Internet resources developed by musical organizations and individuals. Organization is by genres of performers, composers, compositions, and music-related organizations. Other resources include links to publishers, copyright, reviews, and music software; extensive alphabetical listing of both mainstream and specialized publications; and a searchable database of composers, manuscripts, and repertoire. A combinations of popular and scholarly resources. - Jewish Music Webcenter http://www.jmwc.org/
Lists of organizations, societies, conferences, institutions for studying Jewish music, and online biographies. Research assistance is provided by the article Starting Research in Jewish Music by Judith Shira Pinnolis. Also includes web resources and links to performers, performances, festivals, and reviews of Web sites, CDs, and books.

