Music Databases
-
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Updated daily.
Full-text and abstract/index: 1975-present
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
ArticleFirst
Indexes articles from over 12,500 journals in all fields. Search by author, title and keyword. Now, also contains table of contents and holdings information for the ArticleFirst journals; search by journal name, journal subject or year.
Index only: 1990-present
Coverage Dates: 1990 - present -
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Index to over 1.4 million records from more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Searches can be done by subject, author or authors who are cited by another author.
Index only: 1980-present
Coverage Dates: 1980 - present -
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, including music education. Provides indexing and abstracts, as well as full text for about 50% of its journals, and includes full text for many books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Coverage Dates: Varies by title -
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels.
1966-present. Includes thesaurus searching, links to the OSU Libraries Online Catalog and full text document service (EDRS), where applicable (via the Locate Document button).
1966-present. Links are provided for full text articles and documents.
1966-present. Index and Abstracts plus links to the EDRS collection.
Coverage Dates: 1966 - present
Free Music Databases
You don't need to be at OSU to access the following:
- The Aria database http://www.aria-database.com/
Offers a main index and browse features. Also searchable by aria, composer, opera, role, range, language, voice parts, and accompanying materials, if available (e.g., translations, MIDIs). Entries also include the dramatic setting of the aria, synopsis, sound files if available, aria text, a link to Amazon.com to locate recordings of operas, and a link suggesting sources for obtaining the score. Most of the operas included in this database are mainstream. - Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature http://www.music.indiana.edu/chmtl/
Combines electronic access to several databases of interest including Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online (http://www.music.indiana.edu/ddm/index.html), and Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (http://www.music.indiana.edu/tml/start.html), a comprehensive database of music theory treatises. - Institute for Music Research http://imr.utsa.edu/
Includes CAIRSS (Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System) for Music, a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. - ACE http://ascap.com/ace/ace.html
One service on the ASCAP site is ACE, a database of song titles licensed by ASCAP in the United States. For each title, you can find the names of the songwriters and the names, contact persons, addresses and, in most cases, phone numbers of publishers to contact if you want to use the work. For most of the titles, you'll find some of the artists who have made a commercial recording. - Classical Music Search http://la.znet.com/~iwamura/page2.html
You'll need speakers and a sound card for this one. When you know a melody and you don't know its title or composer, this melody search engine can help. Using a "keyboard" on the search page, you click the keys to enter a melody (playback lets you hear what you entered). Key is unimportant; the database automatically transposes. The database then searches for the name of the composition and the composer, providing midi files to listen to so that you may make sure you've found the right piece. The database includes more than 1500 classical music melodies, covering many of the famous works of the past three hundred years.
Music Articles in Journals
If you are looking for articles on a topic and do not know which journals they may be contained in, please use a periodical database to search for them. (See section on Music Databases)
If you already know the title of the journal you want, or want to browse what journals are available, they are cataloged in the OSU Libraries Catalog. They can be searched by the name of the periodical or found by searching using a broad subject search, such as Music - Periodicals.
There are a variety of electronic journals about music available by library subscription or full-text within various databases. They can be found in two ways: through their OSU Libraries Catalog records, or from the complete E-Journals list linked on the Libraries' home page.
Finding Books and Scores
Books: Books are listed in the OSU Libraries Catalog by author, title, and subject. The Library of Congress Subject Headings books (located at the Reference Desk) can aid you in selecting the appropriate subject heading.
Scores: Since both The Valley Library and the Music Resource Center at Benton Hall have score collections, look both places and ask for assistance if necessary to determine if a desired composition is located in either collection. Individual scores in the Library are listed in the OSU Libraries Catalog with the composer as author, and sometimes by distinctive title, if there is one.
Scores are also listed under their form, such as Harpsichord music or Symphonies - Scores.For works of music issued in parts of collections, see books listed in the Music Research Guide under the heading Indexes to Music.
To locate and request scores from other libraries, use the new Summit catalog. With one search, the new catalog presents results from the collections of regional academic library catalogs (indicated by the heading Held by: Summit), followed by results from libraries around the world (Held by: WorldCat Libraries). If OSU does not own the item you may request it through Summit. If it is not in Summit, request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Summit requests generally arrive within 3 working days; ILL often takes longer, so use Summit first.
Last Update: 19 Aug 13:29 | Tagged with: music music education songs instruments

