Music Reference - Online
-
Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online)
Grove Music Online is now OXFORD MUSIC ONLINE, a gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. includes the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians; second edition; the New Grove Dictionary of Opera; The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition); The Oxford Companion to Music; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, second edition, revised.
-
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online, a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of books, gives subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. For music, these include: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music (also available in Oxford Music Online), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera, and Who's Who in Opera
Music Reference - Print
Dictionaries & thesauri
- The New Grove Dictionary of American Music. ML101 .U6 N48 1986b
- New Harvard Dictionary of Music. ML100 .N485 1986. Contains definitions of musical terms used in performance, history , and criticism of music. Emphasizes Western art music, but with some coverage of non-Western music, popular music, and instruments of all cultures.
- The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. ML102.6 .N5 1992. Comprehensive 4-volume dictionary of opera from its beginnings in about 1600 to the present.
- The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. ML102 .J3 N48 1988.
- The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. ML102 .I5 N48. Comprehensive coverage of classical and modern Western, non-Western, and folk or traditional musical instruments, performance practice, and instrument makers.
Encyclopedias
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. ML100 .G16 1998. Multi-volume encyclopedia accompanied by CDs housed at Circulation Desk.
- International Cyclopedia of Music and Musicians. ML100 .T4 1975. One-volume encyclopedia, with strong emphasis on American music and musicians.
- The library also has specialized encyclopedias covering folk, popular, country, jazz, rock, and musical theater.
Handbooks & directories
- The Definitive Kobbe's Opera Book. MT95 .K52 1987 The most complete one-volume guide to opera plots.
- The Oxford Companion to Popular Music. ML102 .P66 G35 1991. Covers approximately 1850 - 1985, with emphasis on the English-speaking world.
Biographical information
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. ML105 .B16 1992. Brief biographies of musicians, with lists of their works and works about them.
- Music Index ML118 .M84 and other periodical indexes.
Bibliographies
- Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets, & Monuments of Music: a Bibliography, by George R. Hill and Norris L. Stephens. 1997. ML113 .H55 1997. Comprehensive bibliography of collections of music and individual composers' collected editions.
Indexes
- SongCite: An Index to Popular Songs. by William D. Goodfellow. ML128 .P63 G65 1995. Indexes 7000 songs in 248 collections.
- Songs in Collections: An Index, by D. DeCharms and P. Breed. ML128 .S3 D4. Indexes 411 collections of art songs and operatic arias published between 1940 and 1957.
- Popular Song Index, by P. Havlice. ML128 .S3 H4 1975 and supps., 1978-89. Preface states that "the purpose of this volume is to provide a tool for finding words and music to folk songs, pop tunes, spirituals, hymns, children's songs, sea chanteys and blues."
- Music Index ML118 .M84 1949-present.
Author and subject index to journals representing various aspects of the music field. Library subscribes to annual volumes in print format. - Humanities Index
AI3 .H8 1966-91 - Indexes some major music journals. Library also has its predecessors, Social Science & Humanities Index - AI3 .I6 1965-74 and International Index to Periodicals AI3 .I6 1907-65. - Historical Sets, Collected Editions and Monuments of Music: A Guide to Their Contents, ed. by Heyer. ML113 .H52 1980.
Last Update: 19 Aug 13:29 | Tagged with: music music education songs instruments

