Music

Recordings

Recordings previously located in the Music Resource Center in Benton Hall (900+ music CDs) are in the process of being re-located to The Valley Library. Look for these in the OSU Libraries Catalog or use 1Search on the home page, then refine your search by Content Type on the results page. These will join the library's collection of CD and DVD recordings of classical music and opera and can be checked out. .

Media Browsing at the Valley Library: You can physically browse the Valley Library CD and DVD collections. Information cards on each item are located in bins in the newspaper room on the main floor of the library--take the card for your selection to the Circulation Desk to check out the item.

Another alternative for finding recordings is the Corvallis-Benton County Public Library. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in the Corvallis-Benton County Library District may get a free library card. They have CD recordings as well as several music streaming databases from the Alexander Street Press that you can access online with your public library card number.

Music at OSU

Library resources for music at OSU are in two locations on campus:

1. The Valley Library contains:

  • collected works of selected composers
  • "monuments" and other collections of music
  • limited collection of full and miniature scores
  • reference books in music, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies
  • books about music and musicians
  • music journals and indexes to aid in their use
  • a NEW collection of classical music CDs and DVDs that circulate

2. The Music Resource Center in Benton Hall (part of the Music Department) contains:

  • 900+ music CD's (primarily classical, choral, jazz) (do not circulate - listen in MRC)
  • 4,800+ full and miniature scores (may check out for 3 weeks)

Phone number for the MRC is 737-3634; hours are 8 am - 6 pm during the term.

Writing Guides

  • Writing About Music: A Style Book for Reports and Theses, by D. Irvine. ML3797 .I79 1968 Part 1, Style in the typescript, discusses specific details of typography and documentation, such as footnotes, bibliography, and illustrative material. Part 2 deals with writing skills and literary style in general and as they pertain to the discussion of musical topics.
  • Writing About Music: An Introductory Guide, by R. Wingell. ML3797 .W54 1997. Designed as a guide for undergraduate music majors, this brief but helpful book covers the writing of research papers, program notes, concert reports, and other types of writing about music. It provides guidance in the research process and writing effective prose.
Last Update: 31 Aug 23:22 | Tagged with: music music education songs instruments