Locating Data
EconData
Provides over 1,000 links to socioeconomic data sources, arranged by subject and provider, pointers to the Web's premiere data collections, and their own list of the ten best sites for finding regional economic data.
Economagic
More than 200,000 economic time series data files, with charts and Excel files for each. The majority of the data is USA data. The core data sets involve US macroeconomic data (that is, for the whole US), but the bulk of the data is employment data by local area -- state, county, MSA, and many cities and towns.
Economic Data-Fred II
Database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. Download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data.
Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
EPI's Datazone provides access to about 50 time series dealing with labor market, earnings and income data organized in four areas: Wage and compensation trends, Family Earnings and Income Trends, Prices, and Low Wage Labor Market Indicators.
Economic Report of the President
Statistical tables in spreadsheet format available for the years 1997 to the present.
FDIC Regional Economic Conditions
Provides economic information at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area), and county levels. Updated 8 times a year.
Free Lunch
Access to over 100,000 economic and financial data series.
ICPSR
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) located at the University of Michigan is the world's largest data archive. ICPSR acquires, processes and distributes social science data collected by government agencies and other researchers. The data holdings cover a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. As OSU is a member of ICPSR, Oregon State University students, faculty and staff have access to these data at no charge.
Population Reference Bureau Datafinder
This database contains data on 95 demographic variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, the world as a whole, the United States as a whole, and the U.S. states. (Not all countries have data on all variables.)
The Geospatial and Statistical Data Center
The Geostat Center houses the University of Virginia's collection of electronic statistical and social science data. All the resources are classified, and those items available only to the UVA community are noted as such.
State of the Cities Data Systems
Access to the original electronic data sets generated by HUD's Office of Policy Development and Research sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
USDA Economics and Statistics System
Contains nearly 300 reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Most reports are text files that contain time-sensitive information. Most data sets are in spreadsheet format and include time-series data that are updated yearly
Last Update: 03 Mar 15:53
