Grants

Subscription Resource: GRANT FORWARD

IRIS has become Grant Forward.It is a more attractive and easier to use interface, but all the information you formally found using IRIS is still there, with some additions.

  • Grant Forward locked database
    Cazoodle, Inc. and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign have entered into a licensing agreement regarding the Illinois Researcher Information Service (IRIS). Cazoodle will takeover the IRIS grant search service and utilize its experience in building vertical search engines to strengthen IRISs features by increasing the coverage of grant opportunities and by improving the way researchers seek new opportunities. IRIS currently contains over 8,000 active federal and private funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Users can search IRIS by sponsor, deadline date, keyword, and other criteria. Most IRIS records contain live links to sponsor Web sites, electronic forms, or Electronic Research Administration (ERA) portals. The IRIS Database is updated daily.
    Coverage Dates: present -

Print Resources

Issued annually or semi-annually. Latest edition in Valley Library is shown.

Annual Register of Grant Support 43rd ed. (2010)
LB2338 .A5

Directory of Research Grants (2010)
LB2338 D57.

The Grants Register (2010)
LB2338 .G7.
Geared to students and scholars at or above the graduate level and or those who require further professional or advanced vocational training.  

The Foundation Directory (2009)
AS911.A2 F6

The Foundation Directory, Part 2 19th ed. (2010)
AS911.A2 F652

The Oregon Foundation Data Book, 10th ed. (2010)
HV98.O7 O731

Grants for Minorities, Women, and International Students

Here are a few resources with information for minority and international grant seekers:

At OSU: Check OSU's Financial Aid and Scholarships link on the OSU home page.

Find information for International Student scholarships on the International Students and Faculty Services website.

OSU's Graduate School can provide a lot of help! Contact them at graduate.school@oregonstate.edu, and see their website at http://oregonstate.edu/dept/grad_school/index.html.

You can also check individual OSU college websites for pages similar to this one:Women and Minorities in Engineering, http://engr.oregonstate.edu/wme/scholarships.htm

Beyond OSU:

Online Education Database has a page on minority grants: http://oedb.org/grant/minority

Minority grants at CollegeScholarships.org: http://www.collegescholarships.org/grants/minority.htm

There is also a page there on grants for women: http://www.collegescholarships.org/grants/women.htm

CollegeScholarhips.com is a similarly-named website of a private, fee-based organization called College Connection. Searching their database and applying through them requires payment, but they also list monthly free information you can look at: http://www.collegescholarships.com/scholarships_54.html

Many Universities have websites devoted to finding and achieving minority grants. Here is the minority grants webpage at Michigan State University: http://staff.lib.msu.edu/harris23/grants/3specpop.htm

Private funding:

The Foundation Center has a page for International visitors at http://foundationcenter.org/getstarted/international/

 

Federal Government Resources

The Federal Government is a rich source of grant funding of all kinds. Some new online tools make it easier to find government funding: 

Aggregated sources

Databases that pull together information from a variety of agencies and other sources:

Grants.gov has federal grants aimed primarily at the institutional, not individual, level

Federal Student Aid from the Dept. of Education has more general information about the entire student aid process, with many links to further information; primarily for undergrads but has something for students at any stage of their education  http://studentaid.ed.gov/

CareerOneStop from the Dept. of Labor is for students to search for scholarships and educational money at every level (not just undergrads), http://www.careerinfonet.org/scholarshipsearch/

Individual Government Agencies

GrantsNet -- From the Department of Health & Human Services

National Science Foundation -- Find Funding

National Institute of Health -- Office of Extramural Research

Environmental Protection Agency  -- Grants and Fellowship Information. Includes environmental education grants

Department of Education -- Grants & Contracts

National Endowment for the Humanities -- independent grant-making agency of the U.S. government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.

Foundations

Council on Foundations -- a national nonprofit association of approximately 2,000 grantmaking foundations and corporations.

The Foundation Center -- nonprofit service organization and leading authority on organized private philanthropy in the U.S. A major source of grant information and news; includes a section on international grant information, and has free training materials (many in multiple languages) including a Proposal Writing Short Course

Online Publications

The following open access publications are available without subscription:

The Grantsmanship Center Magazine

Foundation News & Commentary

Philanthropy Journal

Online Library Reference: Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans, 27th ed.

 

Information Portals

TGCI, The Grantsmanship Center -- A grant writing information portal

OSU Research Office -- has resources for both faculty AND students

GrantsAlert.com -- specializing in school and teacher grants

Save this Page

Last Update: 01 Sep 02:00 | Tagged with: grants funding research money