Databases available to everyone.

Public Domain Databases Q-Z

  • Science Accelerator open database
    Science Accelerator is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy.
    Coverage Dates: 1943 -
  • Science Research open database
    ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results. It searches open access journals, government sites, news sites and other freely available resources.
    Coverage Dates: - present
  • Scirus open database
    Scirus searches over 415 million science-specific web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data. It covers the latest technical reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals. Links in the search results will often lead to OSU Libraries\' subscriptions to full-text articles.
    Coverage Dates: - present
  • Searchable Ornithological Research Archives (SORA) open database
    The SORA project (http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora) is an open access electronic journal archive and is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. The content of this site includes the following titles: The Auk (1884-1999), The Condor (1899-2000), The Journal of Field Ornithology (1930-1999), The North American Bird Bander (1976-2000), Pacific Coast Avifauna (1900-1974), Studies in Avian Biology (1978-1999), and The Wilson Bulletin (1889-1999). Also available with browse-only capability is Ornithologia Neotropical; we hope to be able to index this journal soon, and include searching across its contents.
    Coverage Dates: 1884 - 2000
  • SEC filings & forms (EDGAR) open database
    EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, offers access to time-sensitive corporate information. With a few exceptions, all public domestic companies have been required to file Form 10-K or Form 10-KSB with EDGAR since May 6, 1996. Companies may also voluntarily submit such documents as annual reports, security ownership and transaction reports filed by corporate insiders, and notices of proposed sales of securities. Foreign companies will be required to file documetns on EDGAR beginning November 4, 2002.
    Coverage Dates: 1993 - present
  • Shakespeare Database: The Complete Works of William Shakespeare open database
    Maintained at MIT, The Complete Works of William Shakespeare can be searched by keyword. Categories of works and individual works may also be searched.
    Coverage Dates: - - -
  • Social Sciences in Forestry open database
    This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating the social sciences to forestry. Among them are: legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment and finance, and more.
    Coverage Dates: 1985 - present
  • Sport Fish Division Reports (ADF&G) open database
    This database includes Fishery Data Series, Fishery Manuscripts, Fishery Management Reports, and Special Publications reports published in the above series from 1987 through the present. New reports are added as published.
    Coverage Dates: 1987 - present
  • TOXLINE locked database
    TOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
    Free version at: http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/
    Coverage Dates: 1994 - present
  • Trademark Electronic Business Center (TEBC) open database
    This page is the starting point for the USPTO\'s free trademark database, which includes the full bibliographic text of pending and registered trademarks.
    Coverage Dates: - Current to within last two to four months
  • Trail Planning, Construction, and Maintenance open database
    Indexes publications relating to the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of all types of trails. Includes trail use studies.
    Coverage Dates: 1984 - present
  • Transatlantic Slave Trade Database open database
    The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.
    Coverage Dates: -
  • Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications open database
    Treesearch contains peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. Includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service. Includes many retrospective titles and will become a more comprehensive resource over time.
    Coverage Dates: 2004 - present
  • TRIS Online open database
    TRIS Online provides access to almost 450,000 records of published transportation research through a user-friendly searchable database. Over 470 serial publications are regularly indexed and abstracted for the database. TRIS Online includes material indexed and abstracted by TRB as well as the material entered by the Transportation Libraries at the University of California at Berkeley and Northwestern University. Records from the PATH Database (a database on intelligent transportation systems produced at the University of California, Berkeley) are now included in TRIS Online. Currently the Research in Progress files and the international material in the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Databases are not available as part of TRIS Online.
    Coverage Dates: 1999 - present
  • Tropical Forest Conservation and Development open database
    Subjects indexed include: Tropical forest resources; deforestation; conservation; indigenous peoples; management; policy; trade and industrial development; nontimber forest products; research, education, and training; and history. For related subjects, see the online index Social Sciences in Forestry.
    Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
  • Urban Forestry open database
    Indexes publications relating to the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests, selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • USPTO Patent Database open database
    Access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases.
    Coverage Dates: 1976 - present
  • USPTO Trademark Database open database
    This page is the starting point for the USPTO\'s free trademark database, which includes the full bibliographic text of pending and registered trademarks. Current to within last two to four months.
    Coverage Dates: - Current to within last two to four months
  • VITIS: Viticulture and Enology Abstracts open database
    VITIS-VEA is an international literature database in the field of viticulture, enology and related fields. It provides bibliographic data, keywords and abstracts (where possible) in English for scientific papers. Scientific articles on the fields: morphology, physiology, and biochemistry of grapevines; soil science; genetics and grapevine breeding; phytopathology and grapevine protection; cellar techniques; economics of viticulture and enology; enology; microbiology of wine. In addition, since 1994: Technical articles from German language journals (Abstracts provided in German).
    Coverage Dates: 1969 - present
  • WorldCat locked database
    Index to over 30 million records cataloged by most North American and European libraries. Materials indexed include books, journals, conferences, films, videos, recordings, musical scores, computer software, maps and manuscripts. Materials date back to the 11th century.
    The free version of WorldCat-Web at: http://www.worldcat.org/
    Coverage Dates: - - -
Last Update: 01 Sep 00:48 | Tagged with: public-domain databases open-access