Sources for Background Information
Use these to learn more about a person, an event, a concept or more.
Dictionary of American History (describes events)
American Men and Women of Science: the physical and biological sciences Q141 .C2
American Men and Women of Science: the social and behavioral sciences Q141 .C21
Note: some years are shelved in compact and some in storage.
Dictionary of Concepts in History REF D13 .R49 1986
Dictionary of the History of Ideas REF CB5 .D52
Encyclopedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures Q124.8 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of the scientific revolution: from Copernicus to Newton REF Q125 .E53 2000
History of Technology and Invention; Progress Through the Ages T15 .D26
Find more on the History of Science Research Guide.
Brief overview with short bios from UC-Berkeley.
American Men and Women of Science: the physical and biological sciences Q141 .C2
American Men and Women of Science: the social and behavioral sciences Q141 .C21
Note: some years are shelved in compact and some in storage.
American National Biography Authoritative print biographical dictionary. Call number is CT213 .A68 1999 and shelved on the main floor at Valley Library.
Dictionary of American History Online dictionary that puts events in historical context, includes bibliographies and photos.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography The source for biographical information about scientists. Newly available online.
The Oxford Companion to United States History Online database of university level dictionaries, encyclopedias and more. Look under History and Politics and Social Sciences.
There are many print reference sources dedicated to the History of Science listed here.
Go here for more titles specific to History of Science
Starting Points
Not sure where to start?
OSU Libraries Catalog use to find books, which journals the library subscribes to and much more.
Summit Catalog use to expand your search to find and request books and other materials from libraries throughout the Northwest. Can also expand to libraries throughout the world.
America: History and Life is the main database for finding citations & abstracts for U.S. History articles or book reviews.
Historical Abstracts provides citations & abstracts for articles and books covering historical topics outside of the U.S. (and Canada).
JSTOR provides full-text to many back issues history, interdisciplinary and area studies journals.
Project Muse provides full-text to current years of many history, interdisciplinary and area studies journals.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries are a useful place to gather background information on your topic.
Last Update: 03 May 13:36 | Tagged with: History

