Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
In general, start your searching with just one or two keywords. Add more as needed.
Be sure to try your topic in more than one database.
Read citations and abstracts to get ideas of different keywords that represent your topic.-
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of citations and full text scholarly and non-scholarly. Click Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals to limit your search. Type islam* to find the words islam or islamic. Use quotes, "A'isha Bint", so the terms are searched as a phrase.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
ArticleFirst
Citations from journals in all disciplines. Use quotes, "Abu Muslim", so the terms are searched as a phrase.
Coverage Dates: 1990 - present -
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly citations and articles covering world history. Type islam* to find the words islam or islamic. Use quotes, "A'isha Bint", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Can limit by language (recommended). Can limit by Historical Period. You may find a few articles here, but don't be surprised if there aren't very many.
Coverage Dates: 1955 -
JSTOR
A multi-disciplinary archival collection of scholarly journal articles. Type islam* to find the words islam or islamic. Use quotes, "A'isha Bint", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Under the advanced search, check mark articles to limit to scholarly articles. Again, you may find a few articles here, but don't be surprised if there aren't very many.
Coverage Dates: Varies by Journal -
Project Muse
Interdisciplinary collection of full-text, peer reviewed journals. Type islam* to find the words islam or islamic. Use quotes, "A'isha Bint", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Use parentheses to search for multiple concepts ("muslim" or islam*) and history. Use the limit to articles on the Advanced Article Search page.
Coverage Dates: Varies by journal -
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers. Some articles are available in full-text; others you can link to and get through OSU's print or electronic journal subscriptions. If the article is not available through OSU, you can request it from InterLibrary Loan. Use quotes, "A'isha Bint", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Use parentheses to search for multiple concepts ("muslim" or islam*) and history.
Coverage Dates: Unknown
Last Update: 03 May 13:36 | Tagged with: History

