Newspapers

Historical Newspapers Online

ICON: Newspaper Digitization Project
Provides a freely accessible database of information for over 25,000 U.S. and international newspapers.

U.S. Historical Newspapers
This guide from Bowling Green State University provides links by state.

Chronicling America, 1880-1910
Search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Historical Newspapers online
This site, compiled by the University of Pennsylvannia libraries, is a comprehensive guide listing historical newspapers by state. These historical U.S. newspapers are available online at no cost.

By going to a newspaper's website, check if free online archives are available. For example:

Finding Aids: New Ways to Find Old News

The bibliographic indexes below allow you to identify newspaper articles from specific time periods in papers we own and in papers we do not own. If OSU does not collect a copy of the newspaper you are looking for, and you are an OSU student, faculty, or staff member, you may request a copy of a newspaper article through Inter-Library Loan if a full and accurate citation is provided to the ILL office. Submit an ILL request.

Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals (E449 .A621)
Volume two provides an annotated index of letters in the Liberator, Anti-Slavery Record, Human Rights, and the Observer, 1835-1865.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, Online: 1690-1876
Also known as America’s Historical Newspapers. Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series I is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820″ and other authoritative bibliographies.

The University of Oregon Libraries maintains a large collection of newspapers published in Oregon, the United States, and around the world, both current and historical. For more information about this collection, please refer to the University of Oregon Libraries guide, Finding Newspapers http://libweb.uoregon.edu/guides/newspapers/papers.html
Access to this material would be in person at the University of Oregon's Knight Library or through interlibrary loan with very specific citation information in order to quickly and easily located a desired article.

Eugene Newspaper Index: 1855-1870 (AN .U5 E8)

Library Association of Portland Newspaper Index(AI3 .P78) Indexes issued in 1980 cover state and local news, ca. 1905-1979, from the Oregon Journal, the Oregonian (with selected indexing from the Portland Telegram (1919-1931), and the Portland Reporter (1960-1964), and retrospective indexing to 1851 from miscellaneous sources. Indexes issued in 1985- cover the Oregonian, Oregon Journal, Willamette Week, and Business Journal.

Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject Guide for Researchers: (REF AI3 .M5 1977)

Oregon Newspapers on Microfilm: (REF Z6952 .O7 O71 & REF Z6952 .O7 O71 1989)

Oregon Spectator (Indexes) 1846-1854 (AI21 .O7)

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature  (REF AI3 .R4)
Sometimes refers to NY Times articles.

Historical Newspapers

Here is a list of newspapers, historical and current, on microfilm at Valley Library.

Search these full-text databases for historical news:

American Periodicals Series a database of magazines and newspapers from 1740-1900. This unique and valuable collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741-1900, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched. Deriving from the acclaimed American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.

America's Historical Newspapers a database of newspapers from 1690-1876. Also known as Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876. This historical collection contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.

Here is a list of historical Oregon newspapers in microfilm on the 3rd floor of The Valley Library.

For locating historical citations from newspapers, you can try Google News Archive. After identifying citations, check if OSU Libraries holds the newspaper and if we don't, request it from interlibrary loan.

Photo courtesy of Pingu1963.

Historical News

newspaper

Historical Newspaper Databases

Sons of agricultural workers reading the camp newspaper at the Agua Fria migratory labor camp. Arizona

  • America's Historical Newspapers locked database
    Also known as Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876. This collection contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
    Coverage Dates: 1690 - 1876
  • American Periodicals Series locked database
    This unique and valuable collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
    Coverage Dates: 1740 - 1900
  • Alternative Press Index Archive locked database
    API indexes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution along with Ecology, Democracy and Anarchism, Feminism and Organized Labor, Indigenous Peoples and Gays/Lesbians.
    Coverage Dates: 1969 - 1991
  • Ethnic News Watch: A History locked database
    OSU Libraries subscribes to the back file of Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW). ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of hundreds of ethnocentric publications. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities.
    Coverage Dates: 1959 - 1989
  • Los Angeles Times Archives open database
    Full-text of the Los Angeles Times archives from 1881-1988.
    Coverage Dates: 1881 - 1988
  • New York Times Archives open database
    Full-text of the New York Times from 1858-2008.
    Coverage Dates: 1858 - 2008
  • Oregonian (Archive) locked database
    Full-text archives of The Oregonian, 1861 - 1987.
    Coverage Dates: 1861 - 1987

On Microfilm: Oregon Newspapers

Oregon:

Benton Bulletin AN.U5 B37 1976 - 1998
Benton County Courier AN .U5 B4 Mar. 18, 1915 - May 26, 1924
Benton County Herald AN U5 B42 Aug. 4, 1932 - May 18, 1978
Benton County Republican AN U5 B4 Oct. 11, 1906 - Mar. 11, 1915
Benton Democrat AN U5 B414 May 4, 1871 - Mar. 21, 1874
Benton Independent AN U5 B45 Apr. 18, 1924 - Mar. 24, 1932
Corvallis Gazette (weekly) AN U5 C592 Apr 22, 1865 - 1920
Corvallis Times AN U5 C59 Aug 2, 1893 - Jun 25, 1909
Newport Mercury AN U5 N761 1758 - 1775
Occidental Messenger (Corvallis) AN U5 W4 Sep 26, 1857 - Jun 5, 1858
Oregon Free Press AN U5 O59 Apr 8 - Dec 16, 1848
Oregon Journal AN U5 O6 Mar 11, 1902 - Sep 4, 1982
Oregon Labor Press HD6500 O726 1940 - 1985
Oregon Spectator F880 O711 v.1; 1846 - v.8; 1855
Oregon Union AN U5 O65 Jul 1897 - Feb 10, 1899
  (Mar 12, 1859 - Sept 30,1861 filmed with AN U5 W4)
Portland Reporter AN U5 P8 Feb 11, 1960 - Oct 1964
Willamette Bridge (Portland) AN U5 W48 Jul,20 1968 - Jul 14, 1971
Willamette Valley Observer AN U5 W5 Jan 1975 - Jul 21, 1982
Willamette Week AN U5 W52 1974 - June 5, 1999

On Microfilm: National Newspapers

American Weekly Mercury AP2 A2 A838 Dec 22, 1719 - May 22, 1746
Boston Post Boy AN U5 B642 Nov 12, 1744 - Apr 17, 1775
Chicago Defender AN U5 C4 Apr 2, 1921 - 1980
Daily Journal of Commerce HF5001 .D27 1953 - Apr 16, 1974
Daily Republican AN U5 B39 Jan 2 - Feb 19, 1915
Daily Worker AN U5 W6 1919 - July 14, 1968
Daily World AN U5 D3 Jul 1968 - Jun 1974
Gales Independent Gazeteer AN U5 G3 Nov 1786 - 1797
Hemingford Ledger (Lincoln, NE) AN U5 H461 Oct 7, 1915 - Mar 3, 1938
Independent Gazetteer AN U5 G3 Nov 22, 1786 - Sept 12, 1797
Maryland Gazette AN U5 M371 1745 - 1789
National Observer (Wash., D.C.) AN U5 N35 Feb 1962 - Jul 11, 1977
Newbern (NC) Gazette AN U5 N741 1798 - 1804 (scattered issues)
North Carolina Gazette AN U5 N871 Nov 1751 - Oct 1759 (lacks many issues)
Jun 1768 - Nov 1778 (lacks many issues)
North Carolina Mercury AN U5 N741 1799 - 1801 (scattered issues)
Pennsylvania Evening Herald & General Advocate AN U5 P4 1785 - Feb 14, 1788
Pennsylvania Evening Post & Daily Advertiser AN U5 P42 1775 - 1779
Pennsylvania Ledger or Philadelphia Market Day advertiser AN U5 P44 Nov 11, 1775 - May 23, 1778
Pennsylvania Mercury & Philadelphia Price current AN U5 P45 1786 - 1792 (for 8/20/1784 - 1/20/1786 see AN U5 G3)
Philadelphische Zeitung AN .U5 P481 1755 - 1757
Pittsburgh Courier AN U5 P5 Mar 25, 1911 - 1912; 1923 - 1973
Triweekly Republican AN U5 B38 Jun 21, 1900 - Jun 17, 1910
Vietnam Courier DS557 A1 V45 Jun 10, 1964 - Apr 24, 1972
Virginia Gazette AN U5 V5 Sep 6, 1736 - Dec 9, 1780
Virginia Journal & Alexandria Advertiser AN U5 V52 Feb 5, 1784 - Nov 24,1795
Woodburn Opportunity News HD1527 O7 O6 v.1; 1965 - v.4; 1968
The Worker AN U5 W6 Film 1919 -Jul 14, 1968

On Microfilm: International News

International:

Der Hoch-Deutsche AN U5 H581 1739 - 1745 & 1756 - 1762
Japan (Nippon) Times AN J3 J29 Dec 1941 - 1945
Manchester Guardian Weekly AN G7 M3 v.66; 1952 - v.155; Dec. 1996
Pravda AN R8 P7 1961 - June 1999

Microform Help

microfilm

Yikes -- what is this stuff?

Never worked with microforms before? Fear not, we can help...

  • For in-person assistance, see the the staff at the 3rd floor reference desk Monday - Thursday 10:00 to 7:00 and Friday 10:00 to 5:00. 
Last Update: 20 Sep 12:00 | Tagged with: newspapers Primary Sources historical news