Newspapers

1Search

You do allow embedded content.

Use 1Search to find full-text journal articles, books and more. It simultaneously searches all of OSU Libraries e-journal content and our book and other library holdings. Learn more.

How to Find Newspapers Using 1Search

  • 1Search_news Download free alternative to Microsoft Word/Office
    1 minute demo shows how to use 1Search to find quality news articles.

Newspapers near the Newspaper Room

Daily issues of these newspapers are kept on a rack just outside of the Newspaper Room.

Newspaper Room

The library receives many newspapers in print, including major national newspapers, some international newspapers, and many local Oregon newspapers. Subscriptions may include, but are not limited to the following. For an alphabetical listing of all newspapers which the library currently receives, search the OSU Online Catalog, call number "Newspaper".

Oregon
Argus Observer (Ontario, OR) Appeal Tribune (Silverton, OR)
Baker City Herald (Baker City, OR) Bulletin (Bend, OR)
Burns Times-Herald (Burns, OR) C G Sentinel (Cottage Grove, OR)
Capital Press (Salem, OR) Chronicle (St. Helen's, OR)
Clackamas Co. News (Estacada, OR) Clatskanie Chief (Clatskanie, OR)
Courier (Reedsport, OR) Curry Coastal Pilot (Brookings, OR)
Curry Co. Reporter (Gold Beach, OR) The Dalles Chronicle (The Dalles, OR)
Daily Courier (Grants Pass, OR) Daily Journal of Commerce (Portland, OR)
Dayton Tribune (Dayton, OR) Democrat Herald (Albany, OR)
East Oregonian (Pendleton, OR) Gazette-Times (Corvallis, OR)
Gazette-Times (Heppner, OR) Graphic (Newberg, OR)
Headlight Herald (Tillamook, OR) Herald and News (Klamath Falls, OR)
Hermiston Herald (Hermiston, OR) Hood River News (Hood River, OR)
Independent (Woodburn, OR) Lebanon Express (Lebanon, OR)
Lake Co. Examiner (Lakeview, OR) Mill City Independent Press (Mill City, OR)
Malheur Enterprise (Vale, OR) News-Register (McMinnville, OR)
New Era (Sweet Home, OR) News Times (Newport, OR)
News Review (Roseburg, OR) Oregon Daily Emerald (Eugene, OR)
News-Times (Forest Grove, OR) Outlook (Gresham, OR)
Oregonian (Portland, OR) Polk Co. Itemizer Observer (Dallas, OR)
Pendleton Record (Pendleton, OR) Record Courier (Baker, OR)
Portland Observer (Portland, OR) Redmond Spokesman (Redmond, OR)
Register Guard (Eugene, OR) Siuslaw News (Florence, OR)
The Sandy Post (Sandy, OR) Spilyay Tymoo (Warm Springs, OR)
Skanner (Portland, OR) Statesman Journal (Salem, OR)
Spotlight (Scappose, OR) The Sun (Sheridan, OR)
Stayton Mail (Stayton, OR) Times (Brownsville, OR)
Tri-County News (Junction City, OR) Wallowa Co. Chieftain (Enterprise, OR)
West Lane News (Veneta, OR) Willamette Week (Portland, OR)
National
Chicago Tribune (Chicago, IL) (exp. Dec. 2006) Christian Science Monitor (Boston, MA)
Denver Post (Denver, CO) Honolulu Advertiser (Honolulu, HI
Journal of Commerce (NY, NY) New York Times (NY, NY)
Indian Country Today Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA) (exp. Dec. 2006)
People (Sunnyvale, CA) San Francisco Chronicle (San Fran., CA) (exp. 10/06/2006)
San Francisco Examiner (San Fran., CA) Seattle Times (Seattle, WA) (exp. 12/31/2006)
USA Today (Arlington, VA) (exp. 10/19/2006) Wall Street Journal (NY, NY)
Washington Post (Washington, DC) (exp. 12/31/2006)
International
Al Watan (Kuwait) Le Monde (France)
Akhgar (Iran) Macroview Weekly (Taiwan)
Asian Link (Portland, OR) Nameh Mardon (Iran)
Business Weekly (China) Nikkei Weekly (Japan)
  People's Daily (Asia)
Epoch Times (China) People's Korea (No. Korea)
France Amerique (France) Portland Chinese Times (China)
Israel Today (Israel) Sing Tao Daily (China)
Japan Economic Review (Japan) Standard (England)
The Jerusalem Post (Isreal) (exp. Dec. 2006) Sunday Times (London, UK)
Korea Daily (So. Korea) Taiwan Journal (Taiwan)

Start Here!

newspaper image

Current Newspaper Databases

  • LexisNexis Academic locked database
    Full text to U.S. and international newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources.
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
  • Newspaper Source locked database
    Full text to U.S. and international newspaper and magazine articles of over 140 U.S. and international newspapers.
    Coverage Dates: 1984 - present
  • Oregon Index locked database
    The Oregon Index is a selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. The database does not contain full-text information.
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
  • Oregonian (Current) locked database
    The Oregonian is no longer available through LexisNexis Academic. Access to current news is only available through the Oregonian's web site: http://www.oregonlive.com/oregonian/.
    Coverage Dates: - current issue
  • Alternative Press Index locked database
    Alternative Press Index (API) indexes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution along with the topics of Ecology, Democracy and Anarchism, Feminism and Organized Labor, Indigenous Peoples and Gays/Lesbians. Use 360 Link to Full Text to request articles.
    Coverage Dates: 1991 - present
  • Wall Street Journal locked database
    Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1986.
    Coverage Dates: 1986 - present

Current News via the Internet

Many search engines (Google, Yahoo!) provide a "News" section, which may be helpful in locating contemporary news information.

Media Watch/Criticism

Center for Media and Public Affairs
CMPA is a "nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of the news and entertainment media."

Columbia Journalism Review
Calling it "both a watchdog and a friend of the press in all its forms", the CJR provides media analysis, criticism, and commentary.

Critical Media Studies Links
Buffalo State College's Communication Department maintains this site, providing information, resources and links for conducting research in Media Studies.

 

Last Update: 20 Sep 12:00 | Tagged with: newspapers Primary Sources historical news