Newspapers via the Internet
Newspapers and News Sources on the Internet
- AJR NewsLink links to online newspapers from the American Journalism Review.
- All the World's Newspapers links to world newspapers from Australia's WebWombat.
- College News Online links to full-text online college newspapers from campuses around the U.S.
- Hawaiian Newspapers Project - A collection of historical Hawaiian newspapers provided by ALU LIKE, Inc., Hale Kuamo'o, and the Bishop Museum.
- NewsDirectory.com - From the Electric Library.
- News & Newspapers Online - From the Walter Clinton Jackson library at UNC-Greensboro.
Many search engines (Google, AltaVista, etc.) provide a "News" section, which may be helpful in locating contemporary news information.
Historical Newspapers Finding Aids: Ways to Locate Old News
Finding Aids: Ways to Locate Old News
- The bibliographic indexes below allow you to identify newspaper articles from specific time periods in papers we own and in papers we do not own. If OSU does not collect a copy of the newspaper you are looking for, and you are an OSU student, faculty, or staff member, you may request a copy of a newspaper article through Interlibrary Loan if a full and accurate citation is provided to the ILL office.
- Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals (E449 .A621)
Volume two provides an annotated index of letters in the Liberator, Anti-Slavery Record, Human Rights, and the Observer, 1835-1865. - Early American Newspapers, Series I, Online 1690-1876
Also known as America's Historical Newspapers. Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series I is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. - The University of Oregon Libraries' newspaper collection includes local, national, and international newspapers, both current and historical. This material must be accessed in person at the University of Oregon's Knight Library or through Interlibrary Loan with very specific citation information in order to quickly and easily located a desired article.
- Eugene Newspaper Index: 1855-1870 (AN .U5 E8)
- Library Association of Portland Newspaper Index (AI3 .P78)
Indexes issued in 1980 cover state and local news, ca. 1905-1979, from the Oregon Journal, the Oregonian (with selected indexing from the Portland Telegram [1919-1931] and the Portland Reporter [1960-1964]), and retrospective indexing to 1851 from miscellaneous sources. Indexes issued in 1985- cover the Oregonian, Oregon Journal, Willamette Week, and Business Journal. - Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject Guide for Researchers (REF AI3 .M5 1977)
- Oregon Newspapers on Microfilm (REF Z6952 .O7 O71 & REF Z6952 .O7 O71 1989)
- Oregon Spectator (Indexes) 1846-1854 (AI21 .O7)
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (REF AI3 .R4)
Sometimes refers to NY Times articles.
Newspapers
Lexis Nexis international and national newspapers. Be sure to change the date limit to All Available Dates.
NewspaperSource more international and national newspapers
PressDisplay even more international and national newspapers, only last 60 days, best with Internet Explorer
Last Update: 03 May 13:41

