Statistics
RESOURCES IN THE LIBRARY
American Statistics Index (1986-1999) HA154 .A431
[ASI since 1999 is included in LexisNexis Statistical]
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 HA195 .A3 1975
Statistical Abstract of the United States - ONLINE or HA202
ONLINE RESOURCES
USA.gov - Reference Shelf - Data & Statistics
The Data & Statistics section includes links to all the major government agencies producing statistics on topics ranging from aging to transportation.
LexisNexis Statistical
Comprehensive access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, and then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition Online, 1610-2000
Oregon Statistical Sources
Stat-USA (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
University of Michigan Documents Center: Statistical Resources on the Web
ICPSR
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations. ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences, and hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
As a member of ICPSR, OSU students, faculty, and staff have access to the ICPSR data archive, and to educational activities (including the Summer Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research, classroom-ready data, web based instruction, and the Undergraduate Research Paper Competition). OSU researchers also have the opportunity of depositing their own data to take advantage of long-term preservation and worldwide dissemination.
ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan and maintains its office in Ann Arbor.
For questions regarding ICPSR, please contact Valery King at the Valley Library, phone 737-7318.
-
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
Handbooks and Yearbooks
Handbooks are compact reference books, organized for easy access, that provide factual information on specific topics. Yearbooks are annual publications of facts and information about the preceding year, limited to a specific subject, country, or organization.
RESOURCES IN THE LIBRARY
International Year Book & Statesmen's Who's Who - JA51 .I5
Oregon Blue Book - ONLINE or JK9031
Political Handbook of the World - JF37 .P6
Who's Who - DA28 .W6
Who's Who in America - E663 .W5
Yearbook of the United Nations - JX1977 .A37Y4
ONLINE RESOURCES
Country Studies (Area Studies) (Library of Congress)
CIA World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Specialized dictionaries define terms, concepts, and jargon used in a particular field or subject, sometimes in extended entries. Encyclopedias contain authoritative information on a variety of subjects in political science. The overviews they present will help you discover, develop, and narrow topics for research papers.
RESOURCES IN THE LIBRARY
Dictionary of Politics - D419 .L36
Encyclopedia of American Political History - E183 .E48
Encyclopedia of Democracy - JC423 .E53
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics - E184 .A1E574
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements - JX1977 .O8213
Encyclopedia of United States Foreign Relations - E183.7 .E53
International Relations: a Political Dictionary - JX1226 .P55
ONLINE RESOURCES
Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: A User's Guide to its Terms (netLibrary eBook)
Illustrated Dictionary of Constitutional Concepts (netLibrary eBook)
International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management, 1945-1995 (netLibrary eBook)
Public Opinion Polls
RESOURCES IN THE LIBRARY
Gallup Poll: Public Opinion (1972-present) - Valley HN 90 .P8G32
Gallup Poll: Public Opinion (1935-1971) - Valley HN 90 .P8G3
The Gallup Poll Cumulative Index: Public Opinion, 1935-1997 - REF HN90.P8 G29 1999
The Gallup Poll (Tuesday) Briefing 1989 - present HM261.G34 (formerly The Gallup Poll Monthly). Electronic 2002- present (Business Source Premier)
An American Profile: Opinions and Behavior, 1972-1989 - HN90.P8 A53 1999
ONLINE RESOURCES
Voter's Guide to Election Polls (netLibrary eBook)
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Public Opinion Poll Question Database (Odum Institute for Research in Social Science)
PollingReport.Com (The Polling Report, Inc.)
For more online resources, link to "Guide to public opinion poll Web sites: Polling data from around the world" by Gary Thompson and Sean Conley. C&RL News, October 2006 Vol. 67, No. 9.
Last Update: 19 Aug 14:31 | Tagged with: political science politics law government public policy elections constitution

