Design & Human Environment - Archive

Find Books: Catalogs

OSU Libraries Catalog. Books in Valley Library and OSU branch libraries.  If a book isn't available from OSU, use "Try Summit Libraries" to borrow it from another library.

Summit/WorldCat Catalog: Request books not available at OSU and have them sent to Valley Library, usuall within 3-4 working days.

Borrowing from other libraries

Books:

First see if a book is available through Summit. If it's not, request it through Interlibrary Loan

Articles in journals:

Request through Interlibrary Loan.  Articles are delivered electronically, so the turnaround time is often 24 hours or less but may take up to 5 working days. The first time you use Interlibrary Loan, you'll have to complete a registration form. 

Selected Websites

Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America :  1935-1955.( Library of Congress American Memory) Photographs by Samuel Gottscho and William Schleisner,

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture (UW-Madison)

Domestic Interiors Database   (AHRC Centre for the Study of the Domestic Interior)  Searchable database of books, images, diaries, and more.

ASID: American  Society for Interior Designers  

IIDA Knowledge Center (International Interior Design Association)

InformeDesign (ASID, UMinn)  Database of research on design, architecture, housing issues  Register (free) to use and get updates on topics of your choice.

HUD.GOV  Access to more than 850 HUD-sponsored research publications and data sets

Find Articles: Research Databases

Your research interest determines which of these databases will be most  useful for you.

Encyclopedias and Other Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Aging   A useful resource for design and housing issues related to aging.  

Interior Design

Oxford  Art Online  

A Dictionary of Modern Design (Oxford) 

A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (Oxford) 

Fairchild Dictionary of Interior Design  Ref NK1165.P4 2006 

The Interior Design Handbook  Ref NK2002.K57 2002

Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning  Ref NK2110.T48 2001 

Housing

Residential Planning and Design  Ref NA2540.5.I74 2007

A Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends Ref HA214.S73 2002

Green Interior

Photo by Marc Syp.  Flickr Creative Commons