Encyclopedias and Other Reference Sources
Oxford Art Online Includes articles on textiles of nations and cultures, fashion and dress.
The following reference books are located in the Valley Library's Reference collection on the main (2nd) floor .
Fashion
Encyclopeda of Clothing and Fashion Ref GT507.E53 2005 v.1-3.
Contemporary Fashion Ref TT505.A1 C66 2002
In an Influential Fashion: An Encyclopedi of 19th and 20th Century Fashion Designers and Retailers Who Transformed Dress Ref TT505.A1 I5 2002
Fashion Computing: Design Techniques and CAD Ref TT507 .B87 2006
Clothing and textiles
Clothing and Textile Collections in the United States
Ref GT 605.C56 2006
Costumes and Chemistry Ref PN 2067 .M6 2001
Textiles for Early Victorian Clothing Ref T1765.G74 2002
Textiles for Clothign of the Early Republic Ref TS1767.B37 2001
Textiles for Colonial Clothing Ref TS 1315.Q44 2000
World Textiles: A Visual Guide to Traditional Techniques
Ref NK8806.G551 1999
SGMA Sport Apparel Dictionary of Performance Fibers, Fabrics and Finishes Ref TS1767 .S561 1997
Borrowing from other libraries
Books:
First see if a book is available through Summit. If it's not, request it through WorldCat.
Articles in journals:
Request through InterLibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically, so the turnaround time is often 24 hours or less but may take up to 5 working days.
Find Articles: Research Databases
- Your research interest determines which of these databases will be most useful to you.
-
Academic Search Premier
All subjects. Includes magazines and newspapers as well as academic journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
Art Index
Fashion, textile design.
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present -
LexisNexis Academic
Trade and business magazines and newsletters.
-
Web of Science
Science (chemistry, medical, environment, etc)
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Textile chemistry. Downland software on your computer or use a computer at Valley Library.
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present
Find Books: Catalogs
Summit (Orbis Cascades) Catalog
Academic libraries in Oregon and Washington. Request books not at OSU (or checked out) and have them sent here in 3-4 working days
Suggest books you'd like the library to purchase.
Textile Letters

Photograph by mag3737, April 2007. Flickr Creative Commons.
Last Update: 08 Sep 15:42 | Tagged with: dhe interior design housing fashion apparel retail merchandising textiles design interiors
