Current Issues

Preview some online news tools

You do allow embedded content.

Online News

Anyone can use a search engine to find a newspaper's web site, or a site like Google News to search a lot of sources at once.  But there are a LOT of fantastic tools and services available that make browsing current news fun and interesting.  Choose one that matches your learning style:

Newsmap

Newsmap lets you visualize the most current information from Google News in a format called a treemap.  Newsmap doesn't let you search for information - it is a browsing tool.  According to the site, this tool divides "information into quickly recognizable bands which, when presented together, reveal underlying patterns in news reporting across cultures and within news segments in constant change around the globe."

Muckety

With the tagline "exploring the paths of power and influence," Muckety makes its agenda clear.  This tool provides visualizations of the networks different news figures or organizations belong to.  Search for a figure in the news, and you'll get a web-like diagram of other people and organizations that person is connected to.

Silobreaker

This tagline is even bigger than Muckety's - "welcome to unparalleled insight into news and current events."  This site provides a number of different ways to search the news, and also provides charts and other visual tools to illustrate the news trends - what people are talking about and where.

News databases

OSU libraries subscribe to several article databases.  Take advantage of these to get quick access to the full-text of news articles that might be available for a fee elsewhere on the web. 

Some databases make it easy to save lists of articles, some will format your citations for you, and some will recommend more sources to you when you find one you like.

Note - if you are a member of the OSU community you can access these databases from any computer with an Internet connection.  Logon at the prompt with your ONID information.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Lexis-Nexis provides full-text access to local, regional, national and international news sources.  Everything in the database is full-text, and it is updated daily.

Use the Lexis-Nexis wiki to find tips and tutorials on searching created by users and experts. 

Newspaper Source

Newspaper source searches 143 newspapers and provides full-text access to many articles.  It is updated daily.  EBSCO's citation-formatting tool, folders, and other features make managing your research easier.

NewspaperDirect PressDisplay

This gives full-text access to the last two months of many national and international papers - in full-color, full-page format.

Last Update: 01 Sep 00:37 | Tagged with: politics policy news