Business

New Resources for Business Research at OSU

You do allow embedded content.

Find Books in the Library Catalog

OSU Libraries Catalog
The OSU catalog lists all the books held in the OSU Libraries.

Summit
The Summit catalog lists books at other regional libraries that can be retrieved for you and delivered within 3-5 business days, free of charge.

WorldCat
WorldCat lists books that are available at other libraries in the United States, and sometimes in other countries. If you find a book you want, and it is not listed in the OSU Libraries catalog or the Summit catalog, fill out an interlibrary loan request and the book will delivered to the library (and you'll be sent an email alerting you to its arrival). This service usually takes 2-3 weeks.

Find Images You Have Permission to Use

Flickr - Advanced Search Screen

Images that have been licensed by their creators with a Creative Commons license - telling you how you can legally and ethically use their photos.   Show me

Labeling and citing images

Even when the images you use are copyright free, you should acknowledge the creator and indicate the source. 

  • For examples of using MLA style to fully cite images you use in a research paper, click here: citing images 

Please be aware of legal restrictions on the use of images.  Boston University has a useful webpage on Image Copyright .

 

Printing Posters

Student Media Services  (Main Floor, Valley Library): production and printing services funded by student activity fees.

Start with These Databases

  • Business Source Premier locked database
    Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
    Coverage Dates: 1886 - present
  • Academic Search Premier locked database
    Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.Concurrent Users: unlimited
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
  • LexisNexis Academic locked database
    Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
  • General Business File locked database
    Available 24 hours a day via the Internet, General BusinessFile ASAP provides a combination of indexing, abstracts and full text for business and trade publications. Includes directory listings for companies as well as investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries.
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
  • Mergent Online locked database
    Mergent Online is a subscription-based service offering information on approximately 15,000 NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ companies. The service also provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations. Company information comprises that of all of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals except for the Municipal & Government Manual. Annual and quarterly financials date back 15 years, annual reports date back to 1996 or 1997, and SEC filings date back to 1993. Information available for each company includes: company history, business, property, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, exchange and ticker symbol, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustees, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history and more.
    Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown

Books in Print

Strauss's Handbook of Business Information A guide to conducting research in business. This book is located on the shelves directly behind the reference deskHF1010 .M67 2004    

Business Information: Finding and using data in the digital age Tells researchers where to go on the internet for data on a specific topic such as income and spending to taxes, labor, the economy, and more.HD30.2 .Z337 2003

Dictionary of Business Terms

Last Update: 01 Sep 06:26