Book Collections & Catalogs
Selected collections:
OSU Libraries Catalog* Books available at Valley Library
Summit (Orbis Cascades) Catalog Search catalogs of other libraries and have books not at OSU sent here in 3-4 days.
OCLC WorldCat International catalog of books. Indicates if a book is available at OSU. Especially helpful if you know the exact title of a book.
Google Books Books from academic library collections. Use the "Find this book in a library " link to see if OSU has a copy. If we don't you can request it from Summit or Interlibrary Loan.
Selected Reference Books
Indexes* for early reviews not in Academic Search Premier.
- Film Review Index, 1882 - 1985. PN1995.F461 (4th floor)
- New York Times Film Reviews, 1913-1968. PN 1995.N4 (4th floor)
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. AI3.R4 1890-present. (6th floor). Look under the subject "Motion Pictures Reviews" or "Moving Pictures."
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers PN 1997.8.I58 v.1-4 (4th floor)
History of the American Cinema PN1993.5.U6 H55 v1-10 (4th floor)
American Screenwriters PN1998.A2A585 1984 and 1986 (4th floor)
*Click on More below for help using indexes.
Read more
Reviews vs Criticism
Reviews:
- What? Summary and evaluation of a book or film
- When? Shortly after a film opens or a book is published
- Where? In magazines, film-related journals, newspapers; on the Internet; on radio and television
- Who? Journalists, film or book critics, fans
- Why? To help viewers decide whether or not to see the film or read the book
Criticism:
"Criticism" is a term used to describe the close examination of a work by a scholar or expert. It doesn't mean criticizing n the sense of "that movie isn't very good."
- What? In-depth analysis of specific aspects of one or more film. Carefully researched and includes notes and bibliographies.
- When? Months or years after the film's premiere.
- Where? Books and scholarly film journals
- Who? Scholars who study film, film critics
- Why? To further understanding of the film(s) through close analysis
Research Databases
-
MLA International Bibliography
Critical studies of film and film-related topics in books and academic journals.
Coverage Dates: 1926 - present -
Academic Search Premier
Reviews and criticism in magazines and academic journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Provides more than 150 full-text magazines and journals that are covered in indices such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
DVDs and Videos in Valley Library
The DVD and Video collection is located behind the circulation desk. Click here for a list of motion pictures and their call numbers (use the call number to ask for the film)
Selected Film Journals
Cineaste Online: 1990-present
Cinema Journal Online: 1996-present. In print: 1996-present. PN1993.S62 (4th floor)
Film Comment Online: 2002-present. In print: 1962-2005 P1993.F438 (4th floor)
Film History Online: 2005-present
Film Quarterly Online: 2001-present. In print: 1945-present PN1993.F5 (4th floor)
Jump Cut Online: 1974-present
Sight and Sound In print: 1964-present PN1993.S5 (4th floor)
Check the OSU Libraries Catalog and E-Journal list for additional titles.

