Dictionaries & Encyclopedia
Dictonary of zoology (Oxford) -- Online only.
Grzimek's Animal life encyclopedia.
Arrangement by animal groupings and further divided into animal orders and families. Valley Reference QL3 .G7813 and online.
Style Guides
Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors and publishers (formerly the CBE style guide)
- T11.S386 2006 (Reference Stacks)
Here are two helpful online guides to CSE format:
- Ohio State University Libraries' Cite Resources: Council of Science Editors Style
- Colorado State Libraries' CSE (Name/Year System)
Classification
Synopsis and classification of living organisms.
Sybil P. Parker, editor in chief. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1982. 2v.
Provides systematic positions of all living organisms down to the family level. Index is located in volume 2 and contains both common and scientific names. Length of entries varies--sometimes just the name is mentioned (though references for the taxon immediately superior may be relevant) May be a brief overview of the organism's characteristics, biology and ecology, as well as literature references.
Valley Reference QH83 .S89
Handbooks
General:
Guide to reference and information sources in the zoological sciences 2003. (Valley Reference QL45.2 .S36 2003)
Birds:
- Birds of North America: Life Histories for the 21st Century Valley Reference QL681 B625 -- Will eventually encompass individual species accounts for the 700 bird species nesting in the United States and Canada. See also, Birds of North America (Database from Cornell Lab of Ornithology)
- Sibley's Distribution and taxonomy of birds of the world
Valley Reference QL677 .S531 1990 - Sibley's Supplement to Distribution and taxonomy of birds of the world Valley Reference QL677 .S531 1990 sup.--Taxonomic list of birds based on use of DNA and DNA hybridization analysis.
- Field guide to the birds of North America.
Valley Reference QL681 .F531 1999
Fish
- Encyclopedia of fishes.
Valley Reference QL614.7 .E521 1998 - Fishes of the world
Valley Reference QL618 .N4 1994 - List of common and scientific names of fishes from the United States and Canada = Special publication / American Fisheries Society ; no. 12 Valley Reference SH1 .A49 no.12
All species of known freshwater fish of the United States and Canada are covered as well as species along the continental shelf to a depth of 200 meters.
Amphibians and Reptiles
- Amphibians and reptiles of the Pacific Northwest.
Valley Reference QL653.N95 N87 1983 - Complete guide to scientific and common names of reptiles and amphibians of the world.
Valley Reference QL645 .F731 1995
Mammals
- Mammals of North America
Valley Reference QL715 .K38 2002 - Mammals of the Pacific Northwest: from the coast to the high Cascades.
Valley Reference QL201 .M37 1998 - Land Mammals of Oregon
Valley Reference QL719 .O7 V474 1998 - Mammalian species -- Will eventually encompass species accounts for all species of mammals. Valley Reference QL700 .M3 (1969+) Available online at: http://www.bioone.org/perlserv/?request=get-archive&issn=1545-1410
- Mammals Species of the World (3rd Edition) Valley Reference QL708 .M35 2005 Avalable on line at http://vertebrates.si.edu/mammals/msw/
- National Audubon Society field guide to North American mammals --Descriptions include common and scientific name, description, similar species, breeding, sign, habitat, range and information on natural history. Valley Reference QL715 .W49 1996
- Walker's mammals of the world. -- Comprehensive account of recent genera of mammals arranged by taxonomic classification. Valley Reference QL703 .W222 1999
Last Update: 05 Aug 13:35 | Tagged with: Animals Zoology Animal Behavior Conservation
