Search across selected databases.
Searches Ebsco version of Academic Search Premier, Agricola, and Medline as well as Biosis and Zoological Record.
Browsing Zoology E-Journals
If you would like to browse zoology journals in electronic form, these links will take you to lists of journals under the subject headings given. Time coverage varies and currently more is in paper than electronically. For a more comprehensive search on a narrower topic, be sure to use the databases first.
Accessing Journals
To determine if the library owns the journals you need, check:
- E-journals list (electronic journals only)*
- Library Catalog (print and electronic journals)*
*Verify that the dates of coverage or the print holdings include the volume/issue you need.
If you are looking for older/classics in the literature try the database, JSTOR.
Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan to request articles the OSU Libraries do not have in their print or electronic collections
Finding articles
- Use these databases to locate articles and research findings on specific zoology related topics. A complete list of Databases is linked from the OSU Library homepage.
-
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text (sometimes will a lag of up to 12 months) of ~4,600 scholarly publications including many peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans all academic fields. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost. 1975-present
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
Biosis Previews/Biological Abstracts (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Most comprehensive index of life sciences and biomedical research from 5000 journals as well as non-journal literature (meetings, patents, and books)Over 500,000 citations are added annually. 1991-present.
Coverage Dates: 1991 - present -
CAB Abstracts
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, forestry, nutrition and veterinary medicine. International scope.
Abstracts and index:
1973-present
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present -
Fish & Fisheries Worldwide
Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of fish and fisheries research. 1971-present
Coverage Dates: 1971 - present -
Medline (EBSCOhost)
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals. Provides authoritative medical information as well as coverage of other related disciplines. For a free version, use "PUBMED".
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present -
Web of Science
This is a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. You can search for specific articles by title words, author, journal, and/or author address. Because information stored about each article includes the its bibliography so you can also search for articles that cite a known author or article (taking you forward in time). 1970-present
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research. 1935-present
Coverage Dates: 1935 - present -
Zoological Record (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
The world’s leading taxonomic reference; the unofficial registry of animal names. This database covers nearly 5,000 journals, plus non-journal publications. 75,000 citations are added annually. 1993-present.
Coverage Dates: 1993 - present
Last Update: 05 Aug 13:35 | Tagged with: Animals Zoology Animal Behavior Conservation
