Other databases to consider
These additional databases and e-resource collections below will be useful in locating scholarly/peer reviewed articles in Rangeland Ecology and Management related topics.
-
GreenFILE
Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Greenfile serves as an informative resource for the interested novice.
Coverage Dates: mid-1960's - present -
JSTOR Plant Science
JSTOR specializes in giving you access to the older years of journals. For studying the plants associated with rangelands, this can be a useful resource.
Coverage Dates: 1816 - -
Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications
Treesearch contains the full-text of peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. It includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service. As the USFS proceeds with retrospective digitization of its publications, these are also added to TreeSearch.
Coverage Dates: 2004 - present -
Web of Science
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines. You can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, author affliation and you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Scan & Deliver - Interlibrary Loan
When you see an article of interest in a database, follow the "360 link to full-text" -- This will bring you back to our library. If the article is not available electronically from our subscriptions, then you can use the request feature (Scan & Deliver) and it will be sent to you (that will take 48 hours if it is in the library collection and longer if it is not).
The same system is used for requesting any article which is unavailable from the library's collection. That service is called "interlibrary loan" or "ILL" for short.
Before you use Scan & Deliver OR ILL for the first time, you need to register. You can get this done ahead of time by going to: https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/FirstTime.html
- Read over the registration information and then follow the "first time users click here" button
- From then on, you will either go directly to the login page at https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/ when you have an article you can't find OR
- be sent there directly when you are using the 360-link to fulltext in a database
If you use GoogleScholar remember that you can set your "Scholar Preferences" so that it knows you are part of OSU by noting your "Library Links" as:
- Oregon State University Libraries -- find it at OSU (essential for journal articles)
- Open WorldCat - Library Search (good for books)
If you have not started in a database or the catalog, you will find the link to Scan & Deliver (and Interlibrary Loan) is located under the "FIND IT" tab on the library home page.
Recommended Databases (for locating articles)
Use these databases to locate articles and research findings on specific range ecology and range mangement or related topics. A complete list of Databases is linked from the "FIND IT" tab on the OSU Library homepage.
-
Academic Search Premier
Provides indexing and in many cases full-text coverage to nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
CAB Abstracts
This is the premier index for all areas of agriculture including range topics. Adding "PP350" the CABICODE for "Grasslands and Rangelands" can be useful. Indexes articles, government reports and other forestry publications.
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present -
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)
This database indexes the holdings of the National Agriculture Library of the United States. It is NOT a full-text database however, there are links to the full-text of many of the items indexed herein.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
1Search
You can now search across our e-journal collection with "1Search" located in the upper right corner of the library's webpage.
- Remember to use the more specialized databases mentioned on this page when 1Search is not enough.
- 1Search may not be the tool of choice when looking for a specific reference.
Browsing E-Journals
If you would like to browse Rangeland related e-journals, these links will take you to lists of journals related to the broad subjects listed below. Time coverage varies and currently more is in paper than electronically. For a more comprehensive search on a narrower topic. Using the databases first can help you become familiary with the journals you need to track.
To determine if the library owns the journals you need use the "FIND IT" tab on the library home page and find these links:
- E-journals list (electronic journals only)*
- Library Catalog (print and electronic journals)*
Verify that the dates of coverage or the print holdings include the volume/issue you need.

