Forestry

Forestry Encyclopedia and Handbooks

Forestry handbook Call #: Valley SD373 .F58 1984 c.3Valley SD373 .F58 1984 Guin/HMSC SD373 .F58 1984 c.2COCC Second Floor SD373 .F58 1984 COCC Second Floor SD373 .F58 1984 c.2
Read at Google Read at Google

Natural vegetation of Oregon and Washington Author: Franklin, Jerry F. Call #: Valley QK182 .F7 1988 Valley SpCol Vault QK182 .F7 1988 c.2Guin/HMSC QK182 .F7 1988 c.3Valley QK182 .F7 1988 c.4Valley QK182 .F7 1988 c.6Cordley-IPPC QK182 .F7 1988 COCC Second Floor QK182 .F7 1988
Read at Google Read at Google

Encyclopedia of soil science [electronic resource] / Call #: Internet Resources S592 .S53 2008eb
Read at Google Read at Google

Forests and Forestry in the Americas: an encyclopedia Web-based encyclopedia, which will have approximately 300 separate entries, contributed by forest and natural resource scholars and experts. The audience for the encyclopedia generally will be persons not familiar with forestry, including the general public and students through graduate work, teachers, journalists, and professionals who want a brief summary of a subject outside their area of expertise. The Society of American Foresters (SAF) and the International Society of Tropical Foresters are sponsoring this encyclopedia through cooperation with their working groups and members. Currently it contains about 115 articles posted and about 40 more in preparation.
Encyclopedia of American forest and conservation history This is a great resource for overview articles on forest practices and issues in the US through the mid-1980. No e-version available but can be found in the stack under at SD143 .E53 1983 in the Valley and COCC libraries. Read at Google Read at Google
Wood handbook: wood as an engineering material. Now a classic, the Wood Engineering Handbook was updated significantly in 2010 and is the "go to" place for wood properties, uses, etc. Read at Google Read at Google

Statistical Sources on the Web

Statistical Sources in Print

Statistical Yearbook of the Western Lumber Industry/Western Wood Products AssociationThis publication is thin so look carefully on the shelf. A digest of statistical information on the forest industry for 12 western states. Ref: HD 9754 .W48

Production, Prices, Employment, and Trade in Northwest Forest Industries This quarterly publication is part of the PNW-Resource Bulletinseries of the Forest Service. You must dig through the other bulletins in the series to find these gems. SD 144 .A13 A38

Random Lengths Yearbook of Forest Products Summarizes monthly and annual price averages of more than 180 key items of lumber, plywood, veneer, etc. Ref: HD 9752 .R3

Yearbook of Forest Products An FAO compendium of statistics on world forestry. Usually 3-4 years behind with its data. Ref: SD 131 .F62

Style Guides

Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors and publishers (formerly the CBE style guide)

  • T11.S386 2006 (Reference Stacks)

Here are two helpful online guides to CSE format:

For other style guide information refer to Style and Citation Guides