Search across selected databases in Forestry.
Searches Ebsco version of Academic Search Premier, Agricola, and Biosis as well as Environmental Science and Pollution Management. For technical reasons, the tool CANNOT currently include TreeSearch nor the Forest Science Database .
Browsing E-Journals
If you would like to browse forestry related e-journals, these links will take you to lists of journals related to the broad subjects listed below. Time coverage varies and currently more is in paper than electronically. For a more comprehensive search on a narrower topic, be sure to use the databases first.
Accessing Journals
To determine if the library owns the journals you need, check:
- E-journals list (electronic journals only)*
- Library Catalog (print and electronic journals)*
*Verify that the dates of coverage or the print holdings include the volume/issue you need.
If you are looking for older/classics in the literature try the database, JSTOR.
Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan to request articles the OSU Libraries do not have in their print or electronic collections
Finding articles
Use these databases to locate articles and research findings on specific forestry and forest science related topics. A complete list of Databases is linked from the OSU Library homepage.
-
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)
Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations from the holdings of the National Agriculture Library (NAL). The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Coverage is NOT fulltext but links to over 300 journals in Academic Search Premier.
Coverage Dates: 1970 -
Academic Search Premier
Provides indexing and in many cases full-text coverage to nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present -
Biosis Previews/Biological Abstracts (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Indexes current research in the life sciences including botany, ecology, and taxonomy journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Coverage Dates: 1991 - present -
Forest Science
Premier index for forestry and forest products research. Indexes articles, government reports and other forestry publications.
Coverage Dates: 1939 - present -
GreenFILE
Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Greenfile serves as an informative resource for the interested novice.
-
Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications
Treesearch contains the full-text of peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. It includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service. As the USFS proceeds with retrospective digitization of its publications, these are also added to TreeSearch.
Coverage Dates: 2004 -
Web of Science
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines. You can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, author affliation and you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Last Update: 27 Apr 18:10 | Tagged with: Silviculture Forest science Forest resources US Forest Service Forest Engineering Forest management
