Subject Resaerch Databases
-
BioOne
BioOne is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: Varies by Journal -
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (part of ESPM)
With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the journal provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. General microbiologists and bacteriologists aren't the only specialists who turn to Bacteriology each month for important perspectives in the field. The journal is also valuable to environmentalists, medical and veterinary laboratory staff, agricultural researchers, cell biologists, geneticists, toxicologists, and many others.
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present -
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.Abstracts and index: 1967-present
Coverage Dates: 1967 - present -
Forest Science
Index to articles, government reports and other forestry research. Also available in CAB Abstracts from 1973-present
Coverage Dates: 1939 - present -
Index Kewensis
Listing of plant names, their authors and places of publication. This CD contains all of the information in the two original print volumes and 19 print supplements of Index Kewensis.
Index only: 1883-October 1992
Coverage Dates: 1994 -
JSTOR
An archival collection of journal articles that includes over 140 titles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. It does not provide access to the most current issues of the journals. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include a gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years. OSU Libraries subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, Ecology & Botany and the General Science Collections. Full Text: Dates vary by journal
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: Varies by Journal -
Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Index of cited articles from over 5000 scientific journals in all areas of science. Search by cited author, original author, title keywords or journal name.
Index only: 1970-present Web of Science
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications
Treesearch contains peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. Includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service. Includes many retrospective titles and will become a more comprehensive resource over time.
Coverage Dates: 2004 -
Turfgrass Information Center
Turfgrass Information Center� (TIC) at Michigan State University contains the most comprehensive collection of turfgrass educational materials publicly available in the world. TIC has over 76,000 records in its primary database
Coverage Dates: 1983 - present -
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present -
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research.
Index only: 1935-present
Coverage Dates: 1935 - present
Open Databases
Index of Botanical Publications --- Harvard University
"For the purpose of verifying publication names in the Specimen Database and the Gray Index, the Herbaria maintain an index of botanical publications. It is a unique compendium of bibliographic references for both books and journals, dependent primarily on the standard print sources for botanical literature."
This databse povides access to several fungus related databases. They are:
Specimens in the U.S. National Fungus Collections
"The world's largest collection of fungal specimens."
"includes reports of fungi on vascular plants and plant products according to their distribution by state (for the U.S.)"
"more than 33,000 references on the systematics of plant pathogenic fungi isavailable"
"information on the accepted names, synonyms and alternate states for approximately 40,000 fungal names"
International Mycological Institute's Index of Fungi
International Mycological Institute's Index of Fungi by genus or species.
Index to Saccardo's Sylloge Fungorum
"for all the fungal names included in Saccardo's 26-volume work"
"This database contains references to the scientific literature describing studies of the toxic properties and effects of plants and plant parts. Records are displayed in List Format as the following example indicates"
International Plant Name Index
is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names.
"Is a project on development of structured common set of plant anatomy and growth stage vocabularies for use in Genomics data sets, gene and phenotype annotations. The project also provides standard protocols and the database for ontology based annotations."
"It is a comparative plant genomics platform and a Systems Biology database. This is the first such database that allows researchers to carryout in-silico investigation using either or both the forward and reverse genetics approaches to find the genes, proteins, phenotypes, function, expression, gene-gene interaction, metabolic pathways and polymorphic markers in the region of interest. It also allows researchers to make comparisons across genetic maps, genomes and gene orthologs."
Last Update: 02 Sep 16:12
