Research Databases
-
Art Index
Includes many types of art and design publications: periodicals, yearbooks, competition and award notices, interviews, and more. Index only but use "Get this Item" button to see if full text is available from another publisher.
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present -
Academic Search Premier
Articles in magazines, newspapers and academic journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
Reference Sources
Online version of Grove's Dictionary of Art (Ref N31.D5 1996)
Oxford Reference Online. Includes:
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
- The Oxford Dictionary of Art
- A Dictionary of Modern Design
- The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
- A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Artlex
An illustrated, cross referenced dictionary of over 3300 art terms, movements and concepts.
Art and Architecture Thesaurus
Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) Getty Research Institute. Searchable database of artists' names. Useful when you don't know the when or where of an artist.
Selected Websites
Gateways
Art in Flux (Contemporary Art)
ArtSource Includes image collection, museum links, and more
Image Collections and Online Art
Mother of All Art and Art History Links Page Title pretty much says it all.
Selected websites
Archives of American Art Smithsonian's archive of primary sources (letters, diaries, photographs, oral histories, and more)
Museumlinks Museum of Museums Links to US museums by state, Canadian and international museums.
Exploring Themes in American Art (National Gallery of Art Teaching Resource)
Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art History)
New Books
About This Guide
This guide suggests resources for art history, contemporary art, and the fine arts. Other pages (see tabs) in this guide identify specific resources for:
- graphic design and design in general
- Native American art
- photography
- art images (digital collections)
Finding Books
OSU Libraries Catalog Books in Valley Library and OSU branch libraries. If a book isn't available from OSU, use "Try Summit Libraries" to borrow it from another library.
Summit/WorldCat Catalog Request books not available at OSU and have them sent to Valley Library, usuall within 3-4 working days.
Show me how to get books from Summit/WorldCat!
Suggest a book you'd like the library to get.
Browsing by call number
Books in Valley Library are arranged by call numbers that represent subject areas.
Language & Literature: P (4th floor)
Social Sciences/Women: HQ 1101-2030.7 (5th floor)
Since a book can only be shelved in 1 place, you will miss books that may be very relevant by browsing. For example, where would you expect to find a book that examines the work of Jean Rhys, Jamaica Kincaid, and Toni Morrison?
Subject headings
Books are assigned multiple subject headings which describe the conent. if you know the exact subject heading, you can search by subject. If you don't know the exact subject heading, search by keyword and look at the subjects assigned to books that are relevant. Show me how!
Art Images
Web Gallery of Art Virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries.
Art Images for College Teaching Art and architectural works in the public domain
NY Public Library Digital Gallery
Museums with large collections of digitized images:Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco , National Gallery of Art , Metropolitan Museum of Art , Museum of Fine Arts (Boston), Getty, Louvre: Atlas, Tate (London).
OSU Department of Art's Fine Arts Print Collection
Contortionist R, an intaglio print by Professor Yuji Hiratsuka, OSU Department of Art
Using Images
Copyright and Image Management (Office of General Counsel, Univ of Texas System)
Downloading and Inserting Images (Boston University Libraries)
Borrowing from other libraries
Books:
First see if a book is available through Summit. If it's not, request it through WorldCat.
Articles in journals:
Request through InterLibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically, so the turnaround time is often 24 hours or less but may take up to 5 working days.
Last Update: 08 Sep 14:33 | Tagged with: art art history graphic design contemporary art design fine arts
